Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Complete novice - Grinch controller??

Post Thanks / Like

Default Complete novice - Grinch controller??

Hi everyone

I'm completely brand new to this whole world and I'm feeling a little out of my depth.... Help please!!
    I'm in the UK thus whatever I do will obviously be on 240volts. Hardly anyone does this over here, no one near me at least, so I want to do something special and different with my lights.

After lots of reading I was heading towards building a Grinch controller, although I've just read a post that says the chips are hard to get, so I feel like I'm back to square one. I was originally thinking the Grinch was a good starting place for me to learn - it doesn't look too difficult to build (and building anything like this is a whole new experience to me). I'm keen to learn and I've got to start somewhere.

Now having read that parts are hard to get am I better off with a Renard? I liked the grinch because of the 64 channels it offered. Am I able to get all the parts to be able to make the Grinch controller. I've seen a few references to WJohn regarding the pcb.

Any advice and help will be greatly received. I'm sure I have many more questions, this is just the beginning, but I've got to learn somehow.

Thanks very much!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Complete novice - Grinch controller??

Me personally, I would go with the Renard. They are a bit more common. Plus, the Grinch doesn't dim. I had never soldered anything in my life, but was able to build two RenSS24's my first year with very little problem.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by mutleyrover View Post
    Hi everyone

I'm completely brand new to this whole world and I'm feeling a little out of my depth.... Help please!!
    I'm in the UK thus whatever I do will obviously be on 240volts. Hardly anyone does this over here, no one near me at least, so I want to do something special and different with my lights.