Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cutting LED Light Strands

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cutting LED Light Strands

I have a project I am working on with LED C7 Holiday time light strands (I know, not the best quality, but I am just starting out) and I need them to be shorter. Is it possible, or even advisable to cut these to the length I need. I have heard different opinions on the subject.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Cutting LED Light Strands

Pretty much no. With out re calculating the dropper resistor. There is a few threads about it just use the search.
    "Jack of all trades, master of none,

Certainly better than a master of one"
    Projects:
    [URL]http://hackaday.io/project/1092-Raptor12-AC-light-controller[/URL]

Videos
    [URL]http://www.youtube.com/user/KingOfKYA/videos?flow=grid&view=0[/URL]

Post Thanks / Like

That is what I was afraid. Looks like I will just have to figure out how to put more lights on my project, but that is not a bad thing, just more work.

Post Thanks / Like

If you want to do a little DIY, you can make custom strings using the correct resistors. I have made many, and also convert all cheap store bought strings to full wave. This is what I use to work it all out.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    [url]https://www.facebook.com/pages/Christmas-On-Cleveland-street/284096428308803[/url]

5. Thanks PCPackrat thanked for this post
    Likes PCPackrat liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

What I've done to shorten LED strings (or remove those pesky "fairy light" controllers) is put a resistor and a capacitor in series with the LED string, then flip half the LED's around for full wave, like so:

AC-led.jpg

The capacitor (two listed for different AC voltages) blocks current down to about 20ma and you can string easily one LED facing each way or twenty and then some.

And, it's dimmable too.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by frederic View Post