Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    908
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    Evening, all;

    Question - have any of you mounted your FM02 (or equivalent) in the same enclosure as your Helix, and if so, did it cause transmission issues for you? I'm fighting a transmission issue at the moment where I'm getting very poor range out of my transmitter. My house is 80 feet from the road, and when driving slowly in front of my house, the signal fades in and out. I've tried both a modified ground plane and dipole antenna, and the situation really hasn't changed.

    Any thoughts or ideas will be much appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Mike
    208 channels
    2 Ren 24SS / 4 REN 16SS / 2 REN 48LSD controllers
    8 Mighty Mini RGBW floods
    1 LEDTriks
    2 Helix V3 controllers and Vixen to rule them all

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    4,263
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    Please post more info about how you are cabled and the length of your antenna cables.
    Mounting the transmitter with the Helix shouldn't matter. The FM02's radiation is directly out the antenna wire.
    Are you using 50 ohm cable? How long of a cable from the FM02 to the antenna?
    I get a good 1/4 mile from my FM01. I run about 30 feet of 50 ohm cable to a ground plane antenna.
    How is the FM02 connected to the antenna?
    Some pictures may help too.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario.Canada
    Posts
    945
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    I have mine mounted in the same enclosure with my Helix and no issues at all..Crystal clear,I used the antenna that came with it plus I got one more off ebay...I got my second fm02 off DIY express and I'm using the antenna that came with it...Works great for at least a half mile as I have it high on my balcony...I might suggest moving your antenna around and see if the transmission clears up or if you can try listening to the music via headphones then try plugging your helix into a stereo to see if the output is clean.Then you can also try using a portable radio close to your transmitter and see if the noise is there..It also might be the power supply you are using..My step down has filters so it doesn't interfere with it at all..As Uk suggested you might want to show some pictures so we can see how it is mounted as well as tell us what power supply you are supplying it with...
    This is the year for my Mom.She passed away Feb 12 2012 and this year is dedicated to her and her memory.I will finally have it all finished and set to music all for her as I promised.Heres to you Mom (Dec 10,1944 - Feb 12,2012.I love you...

    Now on the web [URL="http://kraftchekchristmaslights.webs.com/"]http://kraftchekchristmaslights.webs.com/[/URL]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    908
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    I'm using a SMA / BNC bulkhead cable from the FM02 to the outside of the enclosure, and then I was initially using about 20 ft of RG58 between the bulkhead to a modified ground plane antenna that Joe Hinkle designed. Today I tried moving the antenna off of the wall to a spot out in the yard, to no avail. The particular RG58 cable I was using was half of a bnc/bnc cable I ordered online from All Electronics; the cable had an aluminum braided shield which I found odd, so today I found some RG59 at HD that had copper braided shield. I changed out the feed cable to 12 ft of RG59 between enclosure and antenna, and it didn't make a difference. I then made a dipole antenna that had approximately 12 ft of RG59 feed cable as well, and while it is somewhat better, I still get fading in front of my house.

    I can take some pictures tomorrow.

    Thanks for replying!
    208 channels
    2 Ren 24SS / 4 REN 16SS / 2 REN 48LSD controllers
    8 Mighty Mini RGBW floods
    1 LEDTriks
    2 Helix V3 controllers and Vixen to rule them all

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Shawnee, OK
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    I have mine mounted in the same enclosure and have no issues. I get about a block of good signal from the little test antenna that came with the unit and two blocks from the dipole antenna I built from the wiki.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    908
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I actually copied your layout inside the enclosure. I was wondering if running the coax beside the AC input to the board might cause issues, but apparently it doesn't. Good to know.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SII
    "Samsung Galaxy - making Applesauce since 2010"
    208 channels
    2 Ren 24SS / 4 REN 16SS / 2 REN 48LSD controllers
    8 Mighty Mini RGBW floods
    1 LEDTriks
    2 Helix V3 controllers and Vixen to rule them all

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Shawnee, OK
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    I ran the AC on the left side of the enclosure and the audio and coax on the right side on the design I posted. My new Helix V3 has a FM02, REN-W, and wall wart tamer all mounted in a CG-2000 enclosure, so everything is much closer together, and it sounds great also. Have you tried a different FM channel?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    908
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Here are some pictures of my Helix and the temporary dipole antenna I made last night. The picture of the lid isn't really clear, but in it I have the 12V wall wart, a LM317 voltage regulator, and an on/off switch for the FM02. In the picture showing the antenna, the Helix is in the CG1500 to the left behind the bush. The other CG1500 has a Ren48LSD in it.

    The dipole antenna is made of RG59, and I made it using Idunbenhad's instructions (separating the center conductor and shield, and using those as the elements).




    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SII
    "Samsung Galaxy - making Applesauce since 2010"
    Attached Images Attached Images
    208 channels
    2 Ren 24SS / 4 REN 16SS / 2 REN 48LSD controllers
    8 Mighty Mini RGBW floods
    1 LEDTriks
    2 Helix V3 controllers and Vixen to rule them all

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario.Canada
    Posts
    945
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    My set-up has the helix on the back with the transmitter on the top.Power supply is in another enclosure to make sure noise is not an issue...All my lines are separated inside the enclosure ( meaning all top lines are on the top and never see the bottom till the exit)...Maybe noise is entering into the system some place cutting your transmission distance or causing the interference..
    Other then that no idea I wish I could help more..
    This is the year for my Mom.She passed away Feb 12 2012 and this year is dedicated to her and her memory.I will finally have it all finished and set to music all for her as I promised.Heres to you Mom (Dec 10,1944 - Feb 12,2012.I love you...

    Now on the web [URL="http://kraftchekchristmaslights.webs.com/"]http://kraftchekchristmaslights.webs.com/[/URL]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    4,263
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Have Their FM02 Mounted in the Same Enclosure as the Helix??

    Your antenna seems too close to the house. Is there a balun loop at the point of entrance to the dipole?

    Do you have a big tree in the line of sight where the fading occurs?
    Your setup in the box looks fantastic, I don't think your problem is there.
    Can you provide some closeups of you various connections? I think some of your signal is bleeding to ground.
    A close up of the bulkhead connection and others may be helpful.
    Quote Originally Posted by mikentn View Post
    Here are some pictures of my Helix and the temporary dipole antenna I made last night. The picture of the lid isn't really clear, but in it I have the 12V wall wart, a LM317 voltage regulator, and an on/off switch for the FM02. In the picture showing the antenna, the Helix is in the CG1500 to the left behind the bush. The other CG1500 has a Ren48LSD in it.

    The dipole antenna is made of RG59, and I made it using Idunbenhad's instructions (separating the center conductor and shield, and using those as the elements).




    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SII
    "Samsung Galaxy - making Applesauce since 2010"

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •