Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 58 of 58

Thread: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Crab Orchard, NE
    Posts
    975
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    Dirk... This is what this hobby is about... isn't it? try things until it's right?
    [COLOR=red]"I have to plug ALL of these into what??"[/COLOR]

    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Crab-Orchard-Christmas/223405451066297/"]Find us on Facebook[/URL] | [URL="http://craborchardchristmas.weebly.com/"][COLOR=#b22222]CrabOrchardChristmas.com[/COLOR][/URL][COLOR=#b22222]
    [/COLOR]
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [COLOR=#008000]
    Whether it's E.L.F. or C.L.A.P, or an elf clapping... who knows... I have "it" either way!!![/COLOR]

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Edgewood, KY (Cincinnati Area)
    Posts
    745
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    I'm just glad he said that the 380 resistor would be too much for the Simple Renard 32. I didn't know that and I was planning on using those a bunch next year. Now I have to think this out (well just go Ren64) but I've been working on grouping things closer together.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Edgewood, KY (Cincinnati Area)
    Posts
    745
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    Also update. 33.6 degrees right now, by weatherbugs website, lights were turned on this morning and everything played normally through one busy sequence.

    Is that a fair test to start completely cold like that and think if the first one plays it should be good to go?

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hallsville, Mo.
    Posts
    414
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I'm using 8 of them all on Ren64 and have had no issues other a couple of bad moc chips which seemed to be bad from the start. I'm using the channel LEDs on my 64 but I'm also using a larger transformer on my 64 its a 3amp. I have simple 32 as well however no dirkcheaps on any other those. All of my cheaps are being controlled by about 40' of flat satin 28awg cable.

    Gary

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Crab Orchard, NE
    Posts
    975
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    Sooooo.. Since it's about 25 degrees outside I decided to take a closer look at things. I got a chance to pull the power supply, and see what it's rated. It is only a 6v 1 amp. I dug around my box of unused power supplies and could not find one any better... I did find a 9v 2amp... I figured I'd give it a shot.. well it worked.. and things worked great for about 5 minutes until the controller stopped responding... I hooked up the original 6v 1 amp and things came back.

    I guess it should be noted somewhere that on the 64 channel boards it is recommended to us the larger power supply... With DirksCheap

    Now the fun question.. anyone know where I can find a 6v 3amp power supply by oh..um.. end of the week??? I can check at work but doubt There will be any (I think I've already thumbed through them for something else)

    I guess the show will go on as is until I find something better...

    and sorry it took so long to finally look into my issue... not that I didn't want to.. but can't make this my life..
    [COLOR=red]"I have to plug ALL of these into what??"[/COLOR]

    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Crab-Orchard-Christmas/223405451066297/"]Find us on Facebook[/URL] | [URL="http://craborchardchristmas.weebly.com/"][COLOR=#b22222]CrabOrchardChristmas.com[/COLOR][/URL][COLOR=#b22222]
    [/COLOR]
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [COLOR=#008000]
    Whether it's E.L.F. or C.L.A.P, or an elf clapping... who knows... I have "it" either way!!![/COLOR]

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware, OH
    Posts
    670
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveJZ View Post
    I did find a 9v 2amp... I figured I'd give it a shot.. well it worked.. and things worked great for about 5 minutes until the controller stopped responding...
    The lockup was likely caused by regulator U1 overheating.... If you can not find a larger transformer, you may be able to use the 9V if you heatsink the regulator.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveJZ View Post
    ... Now the fun question.. anyone know where I can find a 6v 3amp power supply by oh..um.. end of the week??? ...
    Mouser has 'em for $12.51 plus shipping, but it might be expensive to get them by the end of the week:

    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...%2fc6jRKnjE%3d

    GL!

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Crab Orchard, NE
    Posts
    975
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirk Cheap SSR Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by EasyGo View Post
    Mouser has 'em for $12.51 plus shipping, but it might be expensive to get them by the end of the week:

    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...%2fc6jRKnjE%3d

    GL!
    I was thinking that..

    yeah... I'll see if my wife has something that plugs in that I could use... ??? she complains about my stuff... it would only be fair for her to share
    [COLOR=red]"I have to plug ALL of these into what??"[/COLOR]

    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Crab-Orchard-Christmas/223405451066297/"]Find us on Facebook[/URL] | [URL="http://craborchardchristmas.weebly.com/"][COLOR=#b22222]CrabOrchardChristmas.com[/COLOR][/URL][COLOR=#b22222]
    [/COLOR]
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [COLOR=#008000]
    Whether it's E.L.F. or C.L.A.P, or an elf clapping... who knows... I have "it" either way!!![/COLOR]

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •