Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 3d Object Suite

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 3d Object Suite

    Well, here it is...
    This 'suite' is an addIn and an output Plugin that will aid in sequencing 3d models in Vixen. Currently there are 2 models included: The origional skull model from the skull sequencer and a snowman model created for dirknerkle. Soon I hope to have instructions available on how you can create your own 3d models for use with the addin and plugin.

    For those who are using the Skull Sequencer: You may find this version extremely helpful since you can now import and export your profiles for use in the Preview and the AddIn and well as for importing into new sequences. You no longer need to configure your model every time you need to use it.

    Instructions for it's use are included in the zip file.

    If there are any questions, feel free to ask.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/s2tn465di7...Suite.zip?dl=0
    Last edited by ctmal; 11-20-2017 at 02:36 PM. Reason: Updated link
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    I had a request to update the snowman model so his(or her) head could also tilt and nod. So, here's the updated snowman(also known as snowman2...I know, so creative, right?).

    I'll also add it to the suite download.

    Also, I'm still working on getting tutorial together on how to create the models and the plugins to get them working with the sequencer. With the release of Visual Studio Express 2012 I'm hoping that Blend will make it easier to create the models. Otherwise I'll stick with Blender.

    Does anyone have any experience with Blend? If so, can you create 3d xaml models in it?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    I've started a tutorial on how to create and use your own 3d models in the Object Sequencer suite. There's only 1 video so far but I'll keep adding to it.

    http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...FM5ESkra7ThJ53
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    Ok, the tutorials are done. Now, I don't expect this to be a 'high ticket' but anyone who is using spotlights might want to check it out. The tutorial creates a simple movable spotlight that you can create(or email me for the file).
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  5. Thanks bob81354 thanked for this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, Ohio
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    Quote Originally Posted by ctmal View Post
    Ok, the tutorials are done. Now, I don't expect this to be a 'high ticket' but anyone who is using spotlights might want to check it out. The tutorial creates a simple movable spotlight that you can create(or email me for the file).
    Chris,,

    Hey,, downloaded the 3d Object Suite but when I push the play button nothing happens,, also if I push the "R" key nothing happens,, tried this on both an Xp and win 7 machine. OH,, I'm running Vixen 2.1.1.0
    any ideas?

    Thanks

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    Quote Originally Posted by lefty12 View Post
    Chris,,

    Hey,, downloaded the 3d Object Suite but when I push the play button nothing happens,, also if I push the "R" key nothing happens,, tried this on both an Xp and win 7 machine. OH,, I'm running Vixen 2.1.1.0
    any ideas?

    Thanks
    Hmm...
    A couple of things first, you have .Net 3.5 and slimDx installed, correct?
    Here are the basic steps I took let me know if you're doing any thing different:
    Create a sequence with however many channels you need and audio(must have audio).
    Go to add-ins-> Object sequencer
    You should be prompted to select a model -> then to set up your channel values(for now you can just except the defaults)
    Next you should see the Main window with either the Skull or Snowman model in it.
    From there, you should be able to press play or r to get some sort of feedback...

    Is this where you're at?
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    I just saw something that might be doing it...make sure you're pressing a lower case r(and that your caps lock is off). An upper case R won't work.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, Ohio
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    Chris,,

    yep,, I checked and do have .net 3.5 installed and the slimDx.

    I have a sequence loaded, goto addins, click on Object Sequencer. get the skull or snowman, select skull, set the correct channels, put a check in the jaw check box, push the play button, the button flickers but returns to show PLAY.
    I checked the lower case uppper case last night when the lower case "r" is pushed the play button flickers but when the "r" is released it goes back to PLAY. If I hold down the "r" key for a few seconds the button flashes and will show "resume", but then with another "r" push it returns to PLAY.
    The sequence operates correctly when the sequence play button is pushed.
    I tried changing the audio output device but didnt make any difference.
    I saved my sequences, and profiles,, deleted Vixen 2.1.1.0 did a reboot, reinstalled vixen 2.1.1.0, copied the object sequencer files into the proper places, copied my audio back into the vixen audio folder.
    left the profile and sequence folders empty,
    made a new sequence with a new profile, in the profile I assigned 80 channels, the renard dimmer modified, the object preview, put check mark in renard dimmer modified and assigned all channels to it, left the object preview unchecked, set the correct com output information, added a song from the audio folder and selected use program default audio device, created and saved sequence.
    opened sequence, pushed play button sound played and sequence moved across screen.
    stopped sequence.
    clicked on "Addins", clicked on "Object Sequencer".
    sequencer loaded,, selected skull and set channels for it.
    put check in "Jaw",
    Pushed play button and again nothing.

    Any other ideas
    I am pretty sure its something here,, just cant get to the bottom of it!
    could it be anything associated with the windows firewall or something like that?

    Randy

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    The firewall shouldn't have anything to do with it, the add-in doesn't need to go out to the internet at all.

    It sounds like it might be having some problems with playing the audio file. The fact that the buttons change would lead me to believe it's working but it's not playing.
    Can't you try another audio file and/or a file of a different format? I think all of mine are .wav files or .mp3's. Also, in the top left, does it display the song length?
    If you want, zip up your Vixen folder and post it on dropbox(or anything to share it) and send me the link. I'll try it on my computer.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, Ohio
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3d Object Suite

    Chris,

    Got it to work with a different audio file.
    cant get the one I need to work though.

    randy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •