Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: DMX code for renard boards

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    389
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default DMX code for renard boards

    Hi, I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there is a more up to date version of the DMX fireware than here? As it says that extensive testing has not taken place.

    Also will this DMX code be fine running external DC SSR's?

    Thanks Stephen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,768
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    This is the newest version and the one that everyone is using. Be sure to change

    #define DC_build 0

    to

    #define DC_build 1

    before compiling.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    Looking for the link to the newest DMX code.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    Quote Originally Posted by perrcait View Post
    Looking for the link to the newest DMX code.
    The first post has the link - it has not changed.
    [COLOR=#000080][B][I]Brian[/I][/B][/COLOR]

    [COLOR=#ff0000]Christmas in San Jose! - [URL="http://www.christmasinsj.com"]WEB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/ChristmasInSanJose"]FB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1W78s7liEQEE0ed7WSyLF7B6j3lBX43w"]VIDEOS[/URL]
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#800080]Halloween in San Jose! - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Halloween-in-San-Jose/356280784428581?ref=tn_tnmn"]FB[/URL]
    [SIZE=1]2015 Halloween Show - Planning now - hopefully some house projection...
    2015 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x 6804, Ren48LSD, 3x RenSS16, 1x Falcon16v2 (w/expander), 24x90 WS2811 pixel MT (James MT Strips), 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline
    [/SIZE]
    [/COLOR][SIZE=3][COLOR=#008000][I]Ignorance is Temporary [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]- [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000][I]Stupidity is Forever[/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]...[/I][/COLOR][/SIZE][I][COLOR=#ff0000]
    [/COLOR][/I]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Robbinsville, NJ
    Posts
    1,536
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    Do I need any other mods to code to run an ss16? I have dcbuild set to o. What are the other valid settings
    Michael



    New for 2016: Getting my ESPixel network to function, 4 HDPE Pixel Arches, Pixel matrix on tree trunks. PIXELS!!!
    FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/GothambeatProductions?fref=ts

    Gotham Beat Productions LLC

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Lexington, NC
    Posts
    2,165
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    I don't have any of the SS boards, so I can't give you a definitive answer.

    However, here's some general rules:

    Set DMX_START_ADDRESS of the first PIC to your desired starting DMX channel address for that whole board

    Set DMX_START_ADDRESS for the rest of the PICs on the same board to 1

    If you are NOT using PWM on some or all channels, set PWM_MAP to the correct value

    If you find that all the channels come on when you think they should be off, you need to change the value of SINK_MAP - default is FF, to reverse it, change it to 00. This is controller model dependent. Try it as it is first, and change if necessary.

    BAUDRATE and CLOCKRATE should be left alone - they are correct for DMX

    Not sure what value CTR_LOCKOUT needs to be for non-PWM and non-DC builds.
    Mark

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,945
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    Quote Originally Posted by mschell View Post
    I don't have any of the SS boards, so I can't give you a definitive answer.

    However, here's some general rules:

    Set DMX_START_ADDRESS of the first PIC to your desired starting DMX channel address for that whole board

    Set DMX_START_ADDRESS for the rest of the PICs on the same board to 1

    If you are NOT using PWM on some or all channels, set PWM_MAP to the correct value

    If you find that all the channels come on when you think they should be off, you need to change the value of SINK_MAP - default is FF, to reverse it, change it to 00. This is controller model dependent. Try it as it is first, and change if necessary.

    BAUDRATE and CLOCKRATE should be left alone - they are correct for DMX

    Not sure what value CTR_LOCKOUT needs to be for non-PWM and non-DC builds.

    to program the pic with the dmx firmware for incans on all 8 outputs of a ss8 do in need to change the pwm settings ?

    Any help would be appreciated .

    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    You should use PWM for all of the SS series and regardless of Renard/DMX or Renard/Serial code.
    [COLOR=#000080][B][I]Brian[/I][/B][/COLOR]

    [COLOR=#ff0000]Christmas in San Jose! - [URL="http://www.christmasinsj.com"]WEB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/ChristmasInSanJose"]FB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1W78s7liEQEE0ed7WSyLF7B6j3lBX43w"]VIDEOS[/URL]
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#800080]Halloween in San Jose! - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Halloween-in-San-Jose/356280784428581?ref=tn_tnmn"]FB[/URL]
    [SIZE=1]2015 Halloween Show - Planning now - hopefully some house projection...
    2015 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x 6804, Ren48LSD, 3x RenSS16, 1x Falcon16v2 (w/expander), 24x90 WS2811 pixel MT (James MT Strips), 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline
    [/SIZE]
    [/COLOR][SIZE=3][COLOR=#008000][I]Ignorance is Temporary [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]- [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000][I]Stupidity is Forever[/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]...[/I][/COLOR][/SIZE][I][COLOR=#ff0000]
    [/COLOR][/I]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    428
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    I'm running a SS16 and a SS24 using LOR software, LOR 458usb dongle to the Reanrds. I'm having issues with channels not responding correcty at all. I'm wondering if the hex has the correct setting for PWM. I have no idea what I'm looking for, so any help would be great.

    Is this .asm set to what I need?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ft. Walton Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,502
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX code for renard boards

    The file is fine for the PWM settings.

    If you are having issues with the boards responding correctly try using the internal oscillator.

    Change these settings:

    #define CLOCKRATE 18432000

    to
    #define CLOCKRATE 8000000

    And


    ;; Use the internal clock of the PIC
    ;; __CONFIG _FCMEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _BOD_ON & _CPD_OFF & _CP_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _WDT_OFF & _INTOSCIO
    ;; Use external clock

    __CONFIG _FCMEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _BOD_ON & _CPD_OFF & _CP_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _WDT_OFF & _EC_OSC


    to


    ;; Use the internal clock of the PIC
    __CONFIG _FCMEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _BOD_ON & _CPD_OFF & _CP_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _WDT_OFF & _INTOSCIO
    ;; Use external clock

    ;; __CONFIG _FCMEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _BOD_ON & _CPD_OFF & _CP_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _WDT_OFF & _EC_OSC



    RL
    RavingLunatic
    Not just a username but a state of mind

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •