Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ottoville ohio
    Posts
    1,370
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    well im starting to work on stuff next year and i had a issue with this past year setup. i was running 2 e680s and 1 rpm dmx bridge, well the issue was that RPM's bridge refreshed slower than the e680s. anyone else have that issue? or a fix
    2012 - The year of the pixels
    21ft tall 12x38ct WS2811 Pixel Megatree - DONE
    5 36ct GECE Pixel Archs - Maybe
    Pixelated roofline with windows - DONE
    Bigger matrix and pixel star - DONE
    Added 1200 pixels, a few strobes, and fast tubes
    Now it just all has to play nicely lol.

    [url]http://www.facebook.com/FiedlerFamilyChristmas[/url]
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays"]http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays[/URL]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,611
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    Quote Originally Posted by fathead45 View Post
    ...RPM's bridge refreshed slower than the e680s. anyone else have that issue? or a fix
    What does that mean? What are the symptoms?
    DMX, RDM, ArtNet, sACN, and RDMnet...the future of DIY Christmas.
    Designer of the PropController an open source single-board hardware platform designed for lighting and prop control.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ottoville ohio
    Posts
    1,370
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    well from fades from one color to another the e680 will change faster than RPM bridge to a 2801 convertor. maybe it might be the pixel controller.
    2012 - The year of the pixels
    21ft tall 12x38ct WS2811 Pixel Megatree - DONE
    5 36ct GECE Pixel Archs - Maybe
    Pixelated roofline with windows - DONE
    Bigger matrix and pixel star - DONE
    Added 1200 pixels, a few strobes, and fast tubes
    Now it just all has to play nicely lol.

    [url]http://www.facebook.com/FiedlerFamilyChristmas[/url]
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays"]http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays[/URL]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    441
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    Hummm, I will have to get some parts out and set them up side-by-side. I think I saw what you you are saying, but I think it the issue was that the LEDs brightness response on the low end is visible/much greater, where the incans controlled by RPM's bridge did not become visible until a much higher DMX value. I fixed this with a software dimming curve.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,611
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    Quote Originally Posted by fathead45 View Post
    well from fades from one color to another the e680 will change faster than RPM bridge to a 2801 convertor. maybe it might be the pixel controller.
    Sounds like something that could be corrected with a dimmer curve, I seem to recall Vixen being able to do that at some point not sure if it still does.

    BTW this is a common problem, in that 50% for one fixture is not 50% on another. The most typical example is incandescent vs LED, but it can be equally challenging between LEDs. The other tricky bit with LEDs is making the colors look the same between string types. For example making magenta on one string look like the same magenta on another...not always easy.
    DMX, RDM, ArtNet, sACN, and RDMnet...the future of DIY Christmas.
    Designer of the PropController an open source single-board hardware platform designed for lighting and prop control.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    I had a problem with my RPM bridge this year too. I had it set up using 3 outputs on Renard, 1 to my mini trees, 1 to my mega tree, and 1 to another controller and I would notice that when doing spins on the mega tree it would change speeds. I fixed the problem by running everything off of one universe and daisy chaining the controllers. I also had Vixen set at 25ms and I changed it to 50ms. dlovely sent me some updated firmware that changed how often it checked the for webserver request (i think) which I got uploaded but have been really busy and haven't tested it with the same settings again. Every thing is set back up in the basement now so I should be able to test this weekend.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ottoville ohio
    Posts
    1,370
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    thanks keep me updated
    2012 - The year of the pixels
    21ft tall 12x38ct WS2811 Pixel Megatree - DONE
    5 36ct GECE Pixel Archs - Maybe
    Pixelated roofline with windows - DONE
    Bigger matrix and pixel star - DONE
    Added 1200 pixels, a few strobes, and fast tubes
    Now it just all has to play nicely lol.

    [url]http://www.facebook.com/FiedlerFamilyChristmas[/url]
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays"]http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays[/URL]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    It looks like it is working with the new firmware, I ran three sequences and they did fine. I'll try to load the old firmware back on it and test again and see if it comes back.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    4,267
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    Be sure to upload that new firmware and share it!
    thanks!
    Quote Originally Posted by cessnapilot View Post
    It looks like it is working with the new firmware, I ran three sequences and they did fine. I'll try to load the old firmware back on it and test again and see if it comes back.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: RPM DMX Bridge, refreshing slow compared to E680

    Ran another test last night. Loaded old firmware ran 2 sequences then loaded the new firmware and ran the same sequences.

    Results: With the current firmware you could definitely see some glitches and speed changes with chases
    With the updated firmware everything ran smoothly from what I could tell. Of course after wards I thought I should have taken video of it.

    I will work on getting it uploaded.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •