Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    St. John Indiana
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    I've built my E681, powered it up and the LED's on the board look good. Now I am trying to figure out my next steps. I purchased some 1809 pixels from the DIYLEDEXPRESS group buy. I've read in a thread that the resistors may need to be swapped out for the 1809 pixels.

    So my questions to the group are:

    1) which resister network should I use with the 1809
    2) In the e681 config, would I use the 1804 chip. I didn't see a 1809


    Thanks
    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kernersville, NC
    Posts
    2,127
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    Haven't connected my 1809 strips to an E681.

    However, I did connect the 1809 strips I got from DIYLEDexpress to an E680. This doesn't have changeable resistors, but I didn't have any issues with driving the strips with the E680.

    Yes, you need to set the pixel type to 1804. Usually the 180x strips and pixels all use the same protocol.

    Note that the 1809 strips do have a in and out, and you need to connect the E68x to the INPUT of the strip.
    Mark
    Kernersville, NC
    On the move to another location sometime soon. Probably no display this year

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    9,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    My experience with the E680 and 1809 was a bit different - it was completely unusable as-is since the output level was at 3.3v even with short cables. When doing any multi-color combinations (and esp white) it blinked a ton. I used a buffer chip (74HCT125) to get the output to 5v - after that they worked great. There was a quick-fix suggested by Jim (jstjohnz) to bring up the output level a bit higher but I did not try that.

    As for the E681 - again - same issue even with the on-board buffer chips enabled. I had to jumper out the data line resistors before it worked. The blinking issue only happened on the longer cables (about 15' or so). If you have short runs from controller to strips the existing resistor packs "might" be OK. However - since there is no harm in using jumpers, I would suggest going that route. They are very simple to install.
    Brian

    Christmas in San Jose! - WEB - FB - VIDEOS
    Halloween in San Jose! - FB
    2014 Halloween Show - Homemade tombstones, Video Projection - not much new this year...
    2014 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x6804, 4x Ren48LSD, 30x42 TLS3001 pixel MT/Star, 4x Rainbow Floods, 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline

    Ignorance is Temporary - Stupidity is Forever...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    989
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    I've got an E61 and the same strips from Todd you mention and I configured the controller as 1804 (the fast version) and hooking them up with the appropriate power and by deault it will cycle through a test sequence that's built into the controller so you can see some minimal blinky flashy without having to get Vixen involved. You can also configure different test sequences in the E681 as well to run red, green or blue chases - I believe the test sequence numbers are 04, 05, and 06 respectively. I also had to adjust the RGB order for the pixel strips, I don't have access to the controller now to tell you what the actual order is but it was apparent that they weren't RGB when I ran them through the test sequences at the same time as the pixel string.

    Thanks,
    2013 Plans: Convert to pixels!
    http://amistosolights.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    9,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    My 1809 strips are BRG order.
    Brian

    Christmas in San Jose! - WEB - FB - VIDEOS
    Halloween in San Jose! - FB
    2014 Halloween Show - Homemade tombstones, Video Projection - not much new this year...
    2014 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x6804, 4x Ren48LSD, 30x42 TLS3001 pixel MT/Star, 4x Rainbow Floods, 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline

    Ignorance is Temporary - Stupidity is Forever...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    St. John Indiana
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    Thanks for the feedback. One follow on so I don't damage my pixels.


    Do these connections look correct
    1809 ----------- E681
    + ( Red wire) ---> +V
    - ( Blue wire) ---> Gnd
    IO (Green) ----> dta
    *not used* Clk

    The "+", "-" & "IO" are printed on the pixel strip where the colored wires are attached

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kernersville, NC
    Posts
    2,127
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by tom4writer View Post
    Thanks for the feedback. One follow on so I don't damage my pixels.


    Do these connections look correct
    1809 ----------- E681
    + ( Red wire) ---> +V
    - ( Blue wire) ---> Gnd
    IO (Green) ----> dta
    *not used* Clk

    The "+", "-" & "IO" are printed on the pixel strip where the colored wires are attached
    That looks right to me. I believe I had to use the 1804 (fast) setting.

    I couldn't get the 4, 5, and 6 versions of the test pattern to do much, but the solid color ones did change color.

    I ran some patterns via sacnview which seemed to work fine with the E680. I was driving some GECE pixels as well at the same time on the other half of the board.
    Mark
    Kernersville, NC
    On the move to another location sometime soon. Probably no display this year

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    989
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    The test chase patterns take around 30 seconds to cycle through all of the 680 pixels so if you only have one or two strings attached you have to be patient. Also to switch from one pattern to the next I believe I had to do a save.

    -joni-

    Quote Originally Posted by mschell View Post
    That looks right to me. I believe I had to use the 1804 (fast) setting.

    I couldn't get the 4, 5, and 6 versions of the test pattern to do much, but the solid color ones did change color.

    I ran some patterns via sacnview which seemed to work fine with the E680. I was driving some GECE pixels as well at the same time on the other half of the board.
    2013 Plans: Convert to pixels!
    http://amistosolights.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    St. John Indiana
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    Yippie !! its working fine.

    Powered up the e681
    went into the config and set the chip to 1804F
    Set the pixel count to 150
    set color order to BRG
    connected pixel strings
    remembered to "Save 0"
    I have a red test pattern!!

    Thanks All

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    989
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Built my E681, need help with 1809 pixels

    Congrats!

    -joni-

    Quote Originally Posted by tom4writer View Post
    Yippie !! its working fine.

    Powered up the e681
    went into the config and set the chip to 1804F
    Set the pixel count to 150
    set color order to BRG
    connected pixel strings
    remembered to "Save 0"
    I have a red test pattern!!

    Thanks All
    2013 Plans: Convert to pixels!
    http://amistosolights.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •