Thread: Calling all electricians!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Calling all electricians!

This morning i stop by Home Depot to see what was left in the Christmas stuff (basically nothing) so i went to the electrical isles to have a look around and i found something new. 12-2-2 W/G WTF is that for?? I worked as an appertains electrician back when i was in high school and have run run lots of conduit, romex, etc and never heard of 12-2-2 W/G. The guy there had no idea what you did with it either.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Calling all electricians!

It's so you can pull a single cable for two arc-fault circuts as there are no arc-fault devices yet. You can also use it for two GFCI circuits. It has two hots, two neutrals, and a ground.

/mike

Post Thanks / Like

Had to look up what an "arc-fault" circuit was... Wasn't familiar with the term at all.

But I know I had this kind of issue a few years back when a poor connection in the ceiling light/fan box started arcing. Luckily I heard it enough while doing some other work that I was able to catch it before it got too hot and started a fire.
    Mark
    On the move from Kernersville to Lexington, NC. Just getting moved in so small static display this year

Post Thanks / Like

My first thought was "why don't they call it 12/4". I assume it's because the wires are somehow paired, with both neutrals obviously being white.
    The Sandevices E680/E681/E682 Pixel Controllers, part of the[SIZE="3"] [COLOR="red"]P[/COLOR][COLOR="orange"]I[/COLOR][COLOR="blue"]X[/color][COLOR="lime"]E[/COLOR][COLOR="magenta"]L[/COLOR] [COLOR="red"]P[/COLOR][COLOR="lime"]R[/COLOR][COLOR="blue"]O[/COLOR][COLOR="red"]J[/COLOR][COLOR="magenta"]E[/COLOR][COLOR="cyan"]C[/COLOR][COLOR="red"]T[/COLOR]
    [url]www.sandevices.com[/url][/SIZE] <-email jim at

Post Thanks / Like

Apparently HD calls this stuff 12/2/2, with slashes instead of dashes. Link