Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Tools menu option to convert Vixen 1 and others

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Tools menu option to convert Vixen 1 and others

    How about an option in the Tools menu to convert or import sequences used in other programs or from Vixen 1 ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lithgow, NSW, Down Under
    Posts
    885
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Since vixen 2.0 automatically checks the sequences & updates them to 2.0 the first time it is run, I'd just like to see that action modified. If a sequence is updated already, leave it alone, update any new ones, and DONT delete the updating program from the directory - make that the standard start for Vixen
    2011: The year of the pixels, LED's and glowing balls!
    [url]http://www.lithgowlights.com/[/url]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    494
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I second that .. It should update anything it finds in the sequencing folder on startup. (maybe an option to turn it off for faster statups)

    Wombat
    Have a Wombat of a Christmas
    2011 Display Video:[URL]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZCdTP0u5M4[/URL]
    2010 Display Video:[URL] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfxX5WbDxSc[/URL]
    2009 Display Video:[URL]http://photos.newsys.com.au/Christmas/Christmas-Lights-2009/Ipswich-Ave-Glenwood/10767134_Jgf57[/URL]
    2008 Display Video:[url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wZFp861wbQ[/url]
    2008 WomPanel (LEDTRIX on steroids) [URL]http://www.youtube.com/v/-5L6_TQPKnY[/URL]
    2006 Display Video:[url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-4cyhEdrHY[/url]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lithgow, NSW, Down Under
    Posts
    885
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Oh and if it finds an error, dont convert, and DONT pause with an acknowledge box - many of us want the program to be as user friendly but also as reliable as possible

    I'd hate to have copied a file to the dir, have vixen start while I'm away, but have it pause because the file is corrupt or something. Heck even have Vixen pop up an acknowledge box on many non-fatal errors but have it continue to run in the background
    2011: The year of the pixels, LED's and glowing balls!
    [url]http://www.lithgowlights.com/[/url]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,652
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I do not see the need to have Vixen check for 1.1 sequences every time it starts. The 1st time is sufficient. After you have installed 2.0 and converted your 1.1 files there would be no reason to make more 1.1 sequences. If Vixen checked everytime it would increase the load time for eternity. Just make all your new sequences in 2.0.
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The reason I would like an convert tool is for those times when I get a file from the forum or from the internet and it's in Vixen 1 format. Since I've already updated to 2.0.5 and vixen doesn't check, I have no way to easily convert the file. The startup time issue is also why I just want Vixen to have an option in the Tools menu to convert a file. That way it is only used when needed.

    John

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    336
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I created a folder in the vixen main directory and copied the prepare.exe file in it. When I need to convert a file I just copy this file back into the main directory and start vixen.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Hi Dan,
    I didn't know that you could do that. Thanks for the info.

    John

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •