Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Skull Output plugin

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Skull Output plugin

    **Update. I've updated the Skull Output Plugin and renamed it. You can find everything you need at http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...equencer+suite.

    Here’s a new plugin I’ve been working on.
    It displays the output for a 3-axis skull. It’s the first half of my attempts to make sequencing skulls easier in Vixen(the 2nd half is still in the works).

    Currently this is setup to work in Vixen 2.1. If someone wants a version for 2.5 I don’t think it will take much work to make it. Just let me know and I’ll check it out.

    The plugin does need .Net 3.5 sp1 installed in order to work and both dll files need to copied to the Vixen->Plugins->Output folder.

    Just as a warning, I am by no means a programmer so I’m kind of expecting there to be a few kinks. It is working well for my setup but if anybody else uses it and runs into any issues please let me know and I see if I can correct it/them. You can either pm me or just post in this thread.

    I don’t think there will be much confusion on how to use it but just in case I threw together a quick(extremely quick) rundown on how to set it up. It’s in pdf form within the zip file.

    Enjoy, Chris

    I've decided to consolidate my projects. You can download this and anything else you're interested in at ctm.maloneylights.com.
    Last edited by ctmal; 01-11-2013 at 12:12 PM. Reason: Posted information about 3d Object Suite
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Well, it looks like I found the first error. It's erroring out not being able to find the skull texture bmp file. Should be an easy fix...
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    So - this is a preview box for a skull animation? Can we see it in action? A skull has been on my to-do list for a couple of years now - one of these days...

    Which servos/controller are you using? I have couple of Frank's boards in a box somewhere I need to build...
    [COLOR=#000080][B][I]Brian[/I][/B][/COLOR]

    [COLOR=#ff0000]Christmas in San Jose! - [URL="http://www.christmasinsj.com"]WEB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/ChristmasInSanJose"]FB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1W78s7liEQEE0ed7WSyLF7B6j3lBX43w"]VIDEOS[/URL]
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#800080]Halloween in San Jose! - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Halloween-in-San-Jose/356280784428581?ref=tn_tnmn"]FB[/URL]
    [SIZE=1]2015 Halloween Show - Planning now - hopefully some house projection...
    2015 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x 6804, Ren48LSD, 3x RenSS16, 1x Falcon16v2 (w/expander), 24x90 WS2811 pixel MT (James MT Strips), 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline
    [/SIZE]
    [/COLOR][SIZE=3][COLOR=#008000][I]Ignorance is Temporary [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]- [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000][I]Stupidity is Forever[/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]...[/I][/COLOR][/SIZE][I][COLOR=#ff0000]
    [/COLOR][/I]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    The plugin issue is fixed, I updated the files attached in the first post.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Quote Originally Posted by budude View Post
    So - this is a preview box for a skull animation? Can we see it in action? A skull has been on my to-do list for a couple of years now - one of these days...

    Which servos/controller are you using? I have couple of Frank's boards in a box somewhere I need to build...
    Yes, its a preview box for skull animation. I am unable to record it as this moment, I tried using CamStudio and it just couldn't keep up(that's what happens when your using an 8 year old laptop). I'll see if I can find something else.

    Instead I've attached a sequence of mine from last year. I didn't attach the music, I don't want to create any copyright issues on this site but you can view the actual video at halloween.maloneylights.com. It's the No One Lives Forever one.

    The controller I'm using is the Renard Servo Controller I built last year(if you search for Renard Servo you'll get to the Post) and old Futaba servos from a radio controlled airplane I used to fly 20+ years ago. Ooh, that made me feel old.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    2,128
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Very cool. Looking forward to doing something for Halloween

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Working on an addin that uses the SkullWPFControl.dll I noticed that the skull didn't move correctly. For example, if you rotate the skull all the way to the right and tried to get it to nod up and down it would Tilt instead. I did some research then accidently stumbled across the fix.

    So, the dll is updated an is working a bit more realistically(as in realistic for 3 axis skulls). The zip file in the first post has been updated.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mahopac, New York
    Posts
    353
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Love your Skull Plugin. It seems to be working fine on my XP 32 bit Laptop. I can't wait until you finish the add-in for mouse/joystick input that you mentioned in your blog.

    The only problem I've found is that when I try to use it on my Vista 64 bit Desktop I get an incorrect format error.(see attachments)

    When I looked up similar errors using Google, I came across a number of sites which indicated that the problem might be that the platform target in the Build Tab might be set to "any CPU" and should be set to "x86". I listed two of those links below in case you decide to look into the problem.
    i.e.
    http://www.julmar.com/blog/mark/Perm...734c0e9f9.aspx
    or
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/arvindsh/arc...oke-issue.aspx

    Even if you don't get around to resolving this, it will probably still be easier for me to sequence on the 32 bit machine and copy the finished sequence onto the 64 bit machine than it would to try to do the sequencing manually.

    Thanks again for your work on this, now I just need to start building a 4 servo skull (or two) for my Halloween display.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,707
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Thanks for the input maffeirw. Can you give this a try on your 64 bit setup? I don't have anything 64 bit here at home to test on.

    Thanks,
    Chris
    Last edited by ctmal; 02-08-2011 at 10:37 AM. Reason: Removed non-working attachment
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mahopac, New York
    Posts
    353
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Skull Output plugin

    Quote Originally Posted by ctmal View Post
    Thanks for the input maffeirw. Can you give this a try on your 64 bit setup? I don't have anything 64 bit here at home to test on.

    Thanks,
    Chris
    Tried it on both 32 & 64 bit machines.

    New version works fine on the 32 bit machine, but is not recognized at all on the 64 bit machine (not even listed in the Vixen plug-in list). Sorry if I led you down the wrong path.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •