Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: PIC Programmer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default PIC Programmer

    I'm new to this display animation, so I don't know if this is the place to ask my question, please bear with me. I have read that a PIC programmer is required for the Renard board. Is this necessary? If so, any suggestions on what to buy or make?

    Thanks.
    Pete

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ft. Mitchell, KY (Cincinnati Area)
    Posts
    3,923
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    Pete,
    The PIC programmer would be ideal if you are on a budget, but most Co-ops and Group Buys offere a pre-programmed PICS. If not, many members including me would be happy to program them for you.

    The reason its nice to have one is so you can reprogram the PICs and create Debug version for troubleshooting.

    So, in short. Its recommended, but not required.

    If you want to buy them, one of our Members makes a programming board and sells the PicKit 2 and 3's at a reasonable price as a Kit. You will find him here and on eBay under Joshua 1 Systems (DIYC Name:J1sys). He's a great guy. Personally, I don't think its worth making your own. To me its a catch-22, for the designs I saw, you need a PIC programmer to make a PIC programmer. I would recommend a PicKit2 as they are most common here and you will get the most support
    Last edited by kychristmas; 01-01-2011 at 02:48 PM.
    [COLOR="#A52A2A"][FONT=Arial Black][SIZE=3][B]Dark Yard again for 2017 [/B][/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR="#008000"][SIZE=2] Still searching for more Time and Money[/SIZE][/COLOR]
    [COLOR="BLUE"][URL="https://www.facebook.com/KentuckyChristmas"]Display Facebook Page[/URL][/COLOR]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mechanicsville, MD
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    I'll add to that.

    In 2 of the group buys that I participated in, I had to re-program my preprogrammed chips, so I was glad that I had one. I don't know if I just erased or corrupted them somehow, but re-flashing them did the trick.

    As kychristmas said, I'm sure I could have found someone to do it for me, but being able to check it out right on my bench saved me a lot of time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    I have been reading this forum for a year now and wasn’t sure if I was going to make the jump to a new hobby. I dropped a hint to the wife with a link to Joshua’s ebay store and I got a PicKit2 for Christmas. I guess I’m in for a new hobby. Everything from Joshua came as advertised and his price was great and he shipped it up here to the great white north well in time for Christmas. I recommend him to anyone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,566
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    Quote Originally Posted by i_wannabe View Post
    I have been reading this forum for a year now and wasn’t sure if I was going to make the jump to a new hobby. I dropped a hint to the wife with a link to Joshua’s ebay store and I got a PicKit2 for Christmas. I guess I’m in for a new hobby. Everything from Joshua came as advertised and his price was great and he shipped it up here to the great white north well in time for Christmas. I recommend him to anyone.
    I'm not sure which one you got so I will add this just in case ;) .....
    http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...ad.php?t=14398
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    1,600
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    Hi:
    I have one of the "cheaper" ones with the 40 pin and 18 pin ZIF sockets. So far, it has worked great for me.
    [B][I][U]Idun[/U][/I][/B]

    [IMG]http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/152/136.gif[/IMG]

    [B]Lotsa' Patience![/B] (Some days you can't win, the others you lose, and forget about the rest)

    [B]Some mornings I wake up GRUMPY and other days I let her sleep![/B]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,156
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    I'll second Hartlove's second with my own story - I had pre-programmed PIC's for everything and just happened to also buy a programmer (from Kelly I think) and after I got my display stuff out in the yard I discovered that 2 of my Ren24SS boards didn't work - they worked fine in testing on the bench. The only thing I did to fix them was reflash the PIC's.

    Bottom line, pre-programmed PIC's is convenient to get going but with all the time, money and sweat you put into this all year just for 30-45 days of "use", it's worth the $30-50 investment on a PIC programmer.

    Good luck!

    -joni-
    2015 Plans: More pixels, add more Komby radios, and weld new props!
    [URL="http://amistosolights.com"]http://amistosolights.com[/URL]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    Thank Wayne_J I have this one
    so I think I am covered no matter which way I go.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,566
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    Quote Originally Posted by i_wannabe View Post
    Thank Wayne_J I have this one
    so I think I am covered no matter which way I go.

    Ummm, yep, I would say you all the bases covered. LOL
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southern Alabama
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PIC Programmer

    Cool, found the PIC folks.
    I still use the Olimex board wich does most of the DIPS but I don't have the software for the 16bit PICs. As for what we are using them for, the 12 and 14 bit code is more than enough.

    As for the programming code, that is getting hard to locate. The last time I looked the site had been reported as hacked which I hope has been fixed.
    Pic micro controllers, AMD multi-core processors.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •