Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting Out

Post Thanks / Like

Default Starting Out

Well hey! This post is going to be the start of my endeavour to automate my lights for the Christmas '08 and on. First, a little about myself. I'm currently living in Green Bay, WI, which could quite possibly be the most boring place on earth, but that's beside the point. I work as a lighting engineer in a large congregation of 2000+. We run a fully ETC-based lighting control system, with an Express 48/96 console running on a 3D Visualization server using Emphasis and Cast WYSIWWG. This is all powered up by 4 DMX repeaters, a 48 port Cisco switch, and 600 Sensor+ dimmers. In another part of the building we have an Express 125/250 console with 200 Sensor+ dimmers. All houselights are the responsibility of the Unison control system. That setup is controlled by a 2D Emphasis/WYSIWYG server. As far as lights go, if anyone's interested, we run an army of ETC Source Four ellipsoidals and Par64s, along with 4 moving head 575s and 10 Am DJ 575XTs. In the other part of the building there are 6 Am DJ 250w Scanners and 4 Elation 250w Scanners.

As you can see, I'm very familiar with stage lighting systems and the DMX protocol. I would absolutely love to implement DMX into a system in my yard. However, commercial products would be extremely costly. Now, I am in no way an electrician, so I really wouldn't know where to start building a full DMX512 system. If I did, however, I would also like to build custom dimmers. Again, I really wish I could go this route, but it would be either expensive or time-consuming.