Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 75

Thread: GFIC Receptacles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default GFIC Receptacles

    Does anyone have a source for GFIC Receptacles at a cheap(er) price than the local box stores? I did find an auction for 144 of them on Ebay for $1100. But that is more than I need and really not that big of a savings. You can get 3 for 28$ at Lowes.

    I am building a remote sub panel and it will break out to my GFIC receptacles. Right now I am looking at 20 circuits. So I need 20 of them.
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pearland, Tx (sometimes) and anywhere on the globe the rest of the time
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Quote Originally Posted by james70818 View Post
    Does anyone have a source for GFIC Receptacles at a cheap(er) price than the local box stores? I did find an auction for 144 of them on Ebay for $1100. But that is more than I need and really not that big of a savings. You can get 3 for 28$ at Lowes.

    I am building a remote sub panel and it will break out to my GFIC receptacles. Right now I am looking at 20 circuits. So I need 20 of them.
    Take look a Home Depot...Look for CONTRACTOR packages. It may have 10 or so in them. That is the best price I have seen on them.
    WLC Ventures is now [URL="http://radiant-holidays.com"]Radiant Holidays![/URL]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    I have bought a lot of electrical stuff from the ebay seller: frwoodworking

    He has very good prices on Leviton stuff. I have wholesale accounts at a few electrical supply companies and I still shop there for some things because the prices are lower than my vendor price.
    Don

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    1,420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Also check Harbor Frieght. I've purchased a few from them on sale at around $4 each.
    -Mike
    [URL="http://www.LandoLights.com"]www.LandoLights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://www.sequencecenter.com"]www.SequenceCenter.com[/URL] --> Vixen/LOR Sequences and More

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ft. Mitchell, KY (Cincinnati Area)
    Posts
    3,923
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    If you are making a subpanel, I would bite the bullet and put in GFI breakers. I can tell you from experience that they don't seem as susceptible to mis-trips! I had no Trips this year and I ran my show in Rain and Snow. It was a tough pill to swallow at $36 ea, but worth it. I was in a hurry, i'm guessing you can find some good deals onlline.

    Edit...
    I noticed after posting that you said 20 Circuits. That would be very expensive in breakers. Do you really need that? Probably not. What size is the Sub-Panel you are going to use? I ran Six double outlets from my 60 amp sub panel and ended up using 4 of the 12 Outlets available to run 20,000 Lights. I only had 4 extension cords running from the panel to the display items/controllers. If you are using Minis and LEDS mostly, its just a lot less power than you think.
    Last edited by kychristmas; 01-22-2010 at 12:49 PM.
    [COLOR="#A52A2A"][FONT=Arial Black][SIZE=3][B]Dark Yard again for 2017 [/B][/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR="#008000"][SIZE=2] Still searching for more Time and Money[/SIZE][/COLOR]
    [COLOR="BLUE"][URL="https://www.facebook.com/KentuckyChristmas"]Display Facebook Page[/URL][/COLOR]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Quote Originally Posted by kjburns31 View Post
    If you are making a subpanel, I would bite the bullet and put in GFI breakers. I can tell you from experience that they don't seem as susceptible to mis-trips! I had no Trips this year and I ran my show in Rain and Snow. It was a tough pill to swallow at $36 ea, but worth it. I was in a hurry, i'm guessing you can find some good deals onlline.

    Edit...
    I noticed after posting that you said 20 Circuits. That would be very expensive in breakers. Do you really need that? Probably not. What size is the Sub-Panel you are going to use? I ran Six double outlets from my 60 amp sub panel and ended up using 4 of the 12 Outlets available to run 20,000 Lights. I only had 4 extension cords running from the panel to the display items/controllers. If you are using Minis and LEDS mostly, its just a lot less power than you think.
    You know I thought about going with breakers and yes that is a horse pill to get down! Do I need that many, not all at this time but in 2011 yes. Right now I am looking at 15 Renard SS boards, all 16 and 24 channel boards. So the intent is to have a dedicated circuit for each. I do konow that some of the controllers have low enogh loads at 100% on I can put 2 controllers on one receptacle/breaker. On the same token I have 3 24 channel controllers that might need two seperate circuits. Right now the display design is pushing 50,000+ incans. My biggest challenge right now is to install a solid foundation to have good future expansion with out having to redo the infrastructure every year.

    James
    Last edited by james70818; 01-22-2010 at 01:23 PM.
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ft. Mitchell, KY (Cincinnati Area)
    Posts
    3,923
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Quote Originally Posted by james70818 View Post
    You know I thought about going with breakers and yes that is a horse pill to get down! Do I need that many, not all at this time but in 2011 yes. Right now I am looking at 15 Renard SS boards, all 16 and 24 channel boards. So the intent is to have a dedicated circuit for each. I do konow that some of the controllers have low enogh loads at 100% on I can put 2 controllers on one receptacle/breaker. On the same token I have 3 24 channel controllers that might need two seperate circuits. Right now the display design is pushing 50,000+ incans. My biggest challenge right now is to install a solid foundation to have good future expansion with out having to redo the infrastructure every year.

    James
    I was exactly there last year. You will spend a lot of cycles and money bulding something you think you will need in the future. In all likelihood, what you need in 2 years, will not be what you think it will be now. If you are not going to use 20 circuits, then only buy the breakers you need this year. You build out your subpanel and outlet boxes (those are cheaper),but only put breakers in for the circuits you need. Simply do it so that you can expand later with minimal throw-away! You aren't redoing it, you are expanding it

    I'm really glad I pulled my plans back with all of the electrical stuff. Of course, if money or time is not an issue with you, then by all means, build away.
    [COLOR="#A52A2A"][FONT=Arial Black][SIZE=3][B]Dark Yard again for 2017 [/B][/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR="#008000"][SIZE=2] Still searching for more Time and Money[/SIZE][/COLOR]
    [COLOR="BLUE"][URL="https://www.facebook.com/KentuckyChristmas"]Display Facebook Page[/URL][/COLOR]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St. John's Newfoundland
    Posts
    90
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Sorry i'm not sure if ebay links are allowed (i'm thinking they are) but this looks like a good deal imo http://cgi.ebay.com/50-COOPER-GFCI-O...item4ced41807e

    Please let me know if they are not allowed as i could'nt find anything in the rules so i'm really not sure

    Edit: heres a link for 100 if you wanted this many also there even cheaper again but the same brand from the same seller
    http://cgi.ebay.ca/100-COOPER-GFCI-O...item35a6734c13
    Last edited by sunhouse; 01-22-2010 at 07:22 PM. Reason: another link added
    To many changes to keep updated with!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Quote Originally Posted by sunhouse View Post
    Sorry i'm not sure if ebay links are allowed (i'm thinking they are) but this looks like a good deal imo http://cgi.ebay.com/50-COOPER-GFCI-O...item4ced41807e

    Please let me know if they are not allowed as i could'nt find anything in the rules so i'm really not sure
    That is a great buy! He just listed it after I did my searches. I'm torn between using breakers. Time isn't and issue, YET. But we always want a deal! I think this year I could get away with 12 circuits. I can always pop in a standard breaker with a GFIC recep at the last minute if needed.
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,768
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: GFIC Receptacles

    Yes, it is O.K. to post eBay links on the forum. There are lots of good buys on GFCI's on eBay. Much cheaper than Lowes or HD, and better quality than HF. You can also often find good deals on GFCI breakers.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •