PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply Options

smv
11-09-2009, 11:46 PM
What kills a device: volts or amps?

I have built Brian's 595 board and 16 of Sean's SSR boards from a co-op order a few years ago and I'm finally ready to start using them. I've put every single LED on each of the boards. So my question comes down to the power source option for P1.

I have an RCA Universal AC/DC adapter model AH5. The sticker states:

OUTPUT: DC 3/4.5/6/7.5/9/12V
VA: 12VDCx500mA

When I place the voltage switch to 3 and test with my multimeter I get 5.32VDC.

I then switch my multimeter to 20A and it states that 1.989A.

So I'm a little concerned; the sticker states 500mA but my multimeter states almost 2A. The voltage is damn near but is it too much amperage for these boards?

Thanks,
Seamus

lboucher
11-10-2009, 12:14 AM
Well, i am no electrical engineer. But i am pretty sure that if you are just putting the amp meter in line with just the power supply (AKA no load) you are shorting the power supply which is not good.

See diagram
http://scienceshareware.com/how-to-measure-DC-current-with-a-dmm.htm

So your answer is.
Your AC to DC will only supply up to 500mA "RELIABLY"
If you short the terminals you will breifly get more than 500mA, until you smoke it.

So for a voltage of 5V the appropriate load to test current would be 10 ohm.
R = V/I (10 = 5/.5)
If you place a resistor of 10 ohms in line as the load then you should read 500 mA if its not smoked.

Sky-Lights
11-10-2009, 12:22 AM
What kills a device: volts or amps? pending on the device ...
But , majority of the time ... too high of volts will .
Amps --- as a general rule , think of it as your cars gas tank .... the more you have in it does not mean the more your engine will use faster , just means there's extra if needed . :cool:

Also , to be safe , use only regulated power supplies when available .

RPM
11-10-2009, 12:58 AM
You will need a regulated 5 volt supply.