PDA

View Full Version : Chanel inconsistancy

bnradams
10-28-2009, 08:36 PM
Hey all,

This is my first build of a light controller and all went well except a few minor oversights that were easily trouble-shooted. I got my design from another site for a strip-board 595 and a seperate 6 channel SSR. My 595 board uses three 595's for 24 channels (so far). My trouble is that once I got it all up and running, some channels react normal (turn on/off from vixen) and others at first appeared dead. I can turn on all 24 and all come on, turn off all 24 and all turn off, but if I go one at a time some come on/off some dont. Some will turn on/off a pair of channels at the SSR end. I have set up my plug-in several ways (simple 595, olson 595, 24 channels total, 6 channels total) all react similarly. Any ideas on were to go from here? I have had a blast so far in the build and Im not about to give up.

Wayne J
10-28-2009, 08:49 PM
Check your parallel port settings in the bios, you want it set on EPP.

jmksparks
10-29-2009, 05:57 PM
Had same probs, when I first started. Found the solution on this site somewhere. Apparently the 595s want the same signal voltage as what is powering them. IE. my signal volt read 3.8v so I reduced 5v powering them by placing two diodes in power line -1.4v. This was on an old "98" computer parallel port. Hope this helps, John.

bnradams
11-01-2009, 11:56 AM