PDA

View Full Version : OK So I am lost and confused....

Gregory O
10-15-2007, 07:56 PM
So I built a 595 that I got from Brian. That was easy. I modified my belkin tunecast II with a new antenna, bypassed the attenuator, and also put a mini usb port on it so I can run it off of cpu power.

I dont understand if I need a parallel cable from my lpt port to the board, or can I just use cat5 cable. I will be running the power from my Christmas Control Computer (C3).

The next part I dont get is the whole SSR thing. What is the easiest and cheapest way to build these things? I will probably only run 1 595 this year so I can learn what to do.

I am very envious of everyone that already has their stuff done for this year!!!!!

Creg
10-15-2007, 08:02 PM
Gregory, I am relatively new to this as well. I'll answer as best I can. You need to run a cable from your parallel port to the 595. The easiest way is to convert using a db25 to rj45 adapter. This is in addition to the power connections.

For the ssrs, I went with the sean bowf design and co-op. I went through Jayson's parts co-op for the parts. I am busy assembling now.

There is lots of info here and on cc on the ssr stuff.

Good luck

wjohn
10-15-2007, 08:13 PM
Greg,

I can help out with SSR boards. They are the same COOP design that we have standardised on over the last year.

John.

Macrosill
10-15-2007, 09:22 PM
Gregory,
For the cable from the pc to the 595 you can use any kind of cable you have. You can get fancy with an adapter that will allow you to run Cat 5 cable, cut the printer end off a printer cable or just use some speaker wire soldered to the appropriate pins of a parallel connector(DB25). The beauty is you can use whatever you have available to you.

The easiest way to get ssrs is to buy some of the "hockey puck" type ssrs off ebay. The best way is to buy some coop ssr boards and solder on the components.

scharbon
10-15-2007, 09:25 PM