PDA

View Full Version : newbie with some questions

mnmike3
08-16-2009, 11:04 PM
i am kinda new to the whole christmas light decorating thing. we used to decorate the house, playhouse, and yard when i was a kid but now i have my own house and last year was the first year i had the extra money to buy some lights and put them on the house. Started with 5 strings of c6 led's (350 leds total) then went back to buy more and couldn't find them anywhere in town so i stopped for the year. this year i found some for a good price on the net and will be ordering a bunch more soon. i want to do a simple computer controlled display (maybe 8 channels) with maybe some muisc and add to it over time. Also i'm trying to do this on a small budget. i have a spare computer that should work for this using the printer??? cable (can't think of the name, its on the tip of my tounge). you may have guessed i'm not the best at computer stuff, just know the basics. my question is what do i need to buy to make this work? SSR's? which ones? what software can i use? maybe a downloadable one for now? i've read alot about this but there is so much to take in it gets a little confusing for a newb like myself. i can handle the wiring part just fine just don't know what hardware i need exactly. i thought i knew but then i read ssrs might not work with led strings and i would like to keep with the leds cause of the low current.

deplanche
08-16-2009, 11:12 PM
Welcome!!!

I'd try this first to answer some of your questions.
http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3818

The printer cable (parallel port) can be used with some controllers, such as the grinch. That will give you 64 channels, but no dimming.

The RenSS-8 would give you 8 channels and dimming, but uses a serial port. My guess is if you have a parallel port on the computer, you also have a serial port you could use.

dirknerkle
08-16-2009, 11:32 PM
Welcome, my Minnesota Friend!