PDA

View Full Version : dimmer switch on a ceiling fan motor

DanoNJ
03-31-2009, 09:11 PM
Do you think I can use a standard dimmer switch on a ceiling fan motor or do I need a fan dimmer. I am planning on using an old fan to power a small carousal / merry go round and am looking to slow the rmps.

eswets
03-31-2009, 09:35 PM
You should gear it down to the rpm's that you need. A dimmer many slow the fan down, but you need to use a fan control so you don't have a issue with the dimmer burning up. The fan motor may not have the torqe needed to spin. It is very easy to stop the fan. So depending on your weight, gearing down to a slower speed and then using a fan control to dail in the speed. Also Im not a motor expert, but I think if you use a fan control to slow the motor you lose torqe.

kostyun
04-01-2009, 04:13 AM
I would definatly look at gearing it down.

I was "planning" on making a train last year - and ended up buying two 24vdc motors (run at 1/2 speed at 12vdc) that are used in electric wheelchairs. You may want to look at this route - as the motors already come with quite the gearbox, and have a TON of torque

JFTiger
04-01-2009, 04:29 AM
If you are dead set on the ceiling fan route, use a ceiling fan controller. Modern ceiling fans use a capicitor and a regular dimmer will only make the fan hum. I do not remember the spicifics beyond a regular dimmer does not work well with the capicitor. I know Home Depot sells them, usually more expensive than a cheap dimmer switch. I believe around $30 for one.

DanoNJ
04-01-2009, 08:03 AM
I would definatly look at gearing it down.

I was "planning" on making a train last year - and ended up buying two 24vdc motors (run at 1/2 speed at 12vdc) that are used in electric wheelchairs. You may want to look at this route - as the motors already come with quite the gearbox, and have a TON of torque