PDA

View Full Version : Can l daisy chain my 24 v dc

Goldie
02-20-2009, 02:38 AM
Hi

l want to daisy chain my SSR DC power, l have 24v ac bridge rectifier to 24v dc before the SSR, can l use this power source for all or some of the SSR's rather than connecting a new 24v dc to each SSR, l am connecting to 100 string led's to each channel.

hope l have explained ok

synnie
02-20-2009, 03:19 AM
Hi Goldie, im not going to say im an expert on this one but are you using SSROZ or DCSSR's? IF SSROZ they are AC and the triacs wont switch on with DC.If they are DCSSR's then they will work fine.
Are the LED strings series/parallel? i have LED strings which have 7 sections of 10 bulbs, each section pulls 20mA so the string total pulls 140mA. The tree in my pic has 24 of these strings (homemade) and pulls a total of 3.4Amps at 24VDC.They were switched with ULN2803's though.Shall need to do a little bit of counting to see what each string would/should pull.Are the strings complete with their own transformer pack or bought without one? Thats the easy way to see what amps they will pull.
When you rectify the 24VAC have you reduced the voltage also? bridge rectifying Ac will actually give you 1.4 times the voltage at DC. ie 24VAC = 33.6VDC unless its smoothed and reduced to 24VDC....Confused yet????

Cheers Synnie

Goldie
02-20-2009, 09:48 PM
l'm always confused, but l do understand what you are saying, l have a choice of rectifying the 24AC after the SSR with a reducer which would mean every string will need a bridge rectifier plus a resistor or change the SSR to a DCSSR rectify and resistor before the DCSSR, so either do 16 DCSSR's (which l do not have) and 16 bridge/resistors (which l have) or bridge resistors for each DC string l want to use

synnie
02-20-2009, 10:03 PM