PDA

View Full Version : cutting down mini strings

gizmo
02-02-2009, 01:36 AM
is there any way to reduce the number of mini lights in a string, Maybe by adding a resister (the size of which is determined by the number of minis removed)?

What im trying to do is light small wireframes which will take about 20 mini lights and dont want to black out the extras, im using 100ct strings which are in 2 50 ct sections.

I have seen threads that you can do this with LEDs but not being an electronics guy i dont know if it is possible with minis.

thanks for any help
scott

piesrule58
02-02-2009, 02:57 AM
I'm not sure that you can do what you want with minis. The reason is that a series of 50 lights at 2.2v each = 110v. If you cut your string down to 20 lights the voltage will only be 44v. I am no expert. Maybe someone with more knowledge of electricity can give you a better answer.

djulien
02-02-2009, 03:27 AM
is there any way to reduce the number of mini lights in a string, Maybe by adding a resister (the size of which is determined by the number of minis removed)?

Yes, you can do this. A regular 50 ct. mini-light string contains 50 x 2.5V bulbs wired in series, and typically draws around .17 A. A 100 ct. string is just 2 of the 50 ct. strings in parallel.

If you cut down a 50 ct. string to, say, 10 ct., then the bulbs can only take ~ 25V total, so you'll need to use a resistor that creates a voltage drop of 100 V. Now 100 V at .17 A = 17 Watts, which is a pretty big resistor and will waste a bunch of heat and energy.

What im trying to do is light small wireframes which will take about 20 mini lights and dont want to black out the extras, im using 100ct strings which are in 2 50 ct sections.

You can get 20 ct. mini-light strings that run off of 120 VAC. That is probably the easiest solution, since you would just use them as regular light strings. They use 6V bulbs instead of 2.5V bulbs, and are arranged as 20 bulbs in series.