PDA

View Full Version : New to forum, but not to control.

davedz
01-13-2009, 05:00 PM
Hi,
I finally decided to build a control system for my house lights. I'm a systems programmer with control application background before that. About 11 years ago, I wired up 8 light strings over our 8 cubicles at work to a PC, DIO board and Opto-22 rack, and wrote a C program to perform various patterns, fades, etc.
I have access to a 5600-96 board from Octagon Systems that provides 96 I/O bits of output through four 26 pin 3M header connectors. Only drawback is the card fits an ISA slot. Having access to a matching processor and card rack, I could make the entire system run outside in a sealed box with the program on an EPROM. Since I haven't found a Vixen plugin that will work, I will probably plan on just lights, no music, for the coming season. Right now, I'm planning on 28 channels, creating driver boards and remote SSR boards to interface to the Octagon board. I figured if I make 4 port SSRs and wire them the same as others, I can always upgrade to something later that is vixen compatible.
Thanks for the great forum and info shared!
..dz..

djulien
01-13-2009, 05:08 PM
Since I haven't found a Vixen plugin that will work, I will probably plan on just lights, no music, for the coming season.

If you have the time to hook up something, the music is well worth the effort - it makes the show more enjoyable for viewers. Could you just turn on/off an MP3 player from the board that you plan to use? That way, you would still be able to have the music synced with your lights.

don

rlilly
01-13-2009, 05:32 PM
Dz,
If you're proficient at C, you might consider writing your own plugin for the Octagon board.

You can find the framework for building your own plugin in these threads (http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/tags.php?tag=plugin).

I agree that you'll be giving up most of the impact of your show if you forgo the music.

BTW, welcome!

davedz
01-14-2009, 04:48 PM