PDA

View Full Version : GFIC protection?

eswets
12-29-2008, 01:15 AM
Now this is not a question about the safety aspect of the GFCI, but a question on if the controllers or SSR need the GFCI protection. Lots of rain and lots of GFCI are tripping. I am an electrician and I know the "importance" of them for outdoors, but does the SSR or controller benefit from having the protection. As soon as a moved one of the feeds from the gfci to a non protected outlet I never had a issue since and am thinking of removing all gfci that are dedicated to the lights. Again I don't need to know the safety reasons for keeping them.

NogginBoink
12-29-2008, 01:50 AM
There's nothing in particular about the SSR that requires GFCI protection.

Macrosill
12-29-2008, 09:47 AM
Well if you remove the ssrs from GFCI protected branch circuits then the lights and display items being controlled by the ssrs no longer have any GFCI protection. I am sure you know this eswets but I just wanted to point it out to anyone who may read this and not realize the fact.

I am a very big GFCI advocate, I will never do without GFCI protection on my display, I would rather turn it off than have someone get hurt. I will also always strongly recommend everyone use GFCIs on every circuit utilized outdoors or in indoor areas that have contact with the ground, as in a garage with a cement slab.

Jeff Millard
12-29-2008, 12:09 PM
...but does the SSR or controller benefit from having the protection.

GFCI isn't meant to benefit a particular device. It is meant to detect undesirable leakage away from the preferred path that current flows, and disconnect the feed of that circuit if that leakage reaches a value that is about 1/10th what is considered to be fatal. It is purely a safety device, meant to prevent death by electrocution.

Sooo....

...I don't need to know the safety reasons for keeping them.