PDA

View Full Version : Need help trying to write serial plug-in for Vixen

steve
09-17-2007, 03:00 AM
I have a set of custom controller boards I want to control with Vixen, but I'm not getting too far with the supplied programmer guide and sample code. I think the main problem is that I'm a long-time Unix programmer but don't know my way around the .NET framework, so I'm not really sure how to get this started.

Is there anyone willing to lend a hand in writing the plug-in for these boards? These take a simple sequence of 1, 2, or 3-byte commands on a serial port, with commands like "all channels off", "turn on/off channel X" or "set channel X to level Y".

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

teberle
09-18-2007, 10:18 AM
Steve,

I have looked at the protocol that you sent and should be able to get something roughed in shortly. I will be using the 2.0 vixen which can be downloaded from the Beta2 section. Look for additional pm's or emails as I progress.

Tony

steve
09-18-2007, 11:43 AM
Steve,

I have looked at the protocol that you sent and should be able to get something roughed in shortly. I will be using the 2.0 vixen which can be downloaded from the Beta2 section. Look for additional pm's or emails as I progress.

Tony

Thanks! This will be a big help. I'll download 2.0 in the mean time and check it out.

wingrunr
09-23-2007, 09:32 AM
Is the API for 1.0 the same for 2.0?

teberle
09-23-2007, 11:13 PM
No it is a little different. You will inherit from Vixen.IEventDrivenOutputPlugIn versus Vixen.Plugin. It looks like KC has made it more compartmentalized.

A Marchini
09-25-2007, 12:58 PM
No it is a little different. You will inherit from Vixen.IEventDrivenOutputPlugIn versus Vixen.Plugin. It looks like KC has made it more compartmentalized.

Not having looked at it yet, and not being the most experienced with Visual Studio, how do you get the funcitons in the inherited class? Does it just create a template from them?