PDA

View Full Version : New to 595, any suggestions/warnings...

fcky529
11-24-2008, 02:49 AM
I'm sure there is already a thread for this matter, if so please direct, I have been searching.

I am new to the 595 board, I know electronics, I'm just wondering if there is anything to "look out for" as far as any "kinks/quirks". I will only be going for ON/OFF this year with it.

Any input is well appreciated.

WakeFan
11-24-2008, 12:11 PM
You have to limit your distance between computer and board. I used about 25' and have some bad signals, but people viewing couldn't tell. It does vary with ports. From board to SSR any distance will work.

rlilly
11-24-2008, 06:54 PM
Be careful! Once you experience first blink, you won't be able to stop!

Wombat
11-24-2008, 09:31 PM
make sure you have short lead runs from the computer to the 595's, If possible use a REN-C on it so you can run it off a Serial Port and then you'll be able to have a longer length.

Wombat

Dan Ross
11-24-2008, 09:56 PM
The 595 has a tendency to turn random channels on when no commands are being sent to it. You could either create a background sequence for your off times or turn the main power off when you don't want to find lights on.

bmcgeeny
11-24-2008, 11:18 PM
The 595 has a tendency to turn random channels on when no commands are being sent to it. You could either create a background sequence for your off times or turn the main power off when you don't want to find lights on.

The Grinch's do the same. I think they somehow pickup a random signal from the port. I have an overnight sequence that turns on and leaves on the power for the security motion dector flood lamps. I also have it turn on and off one channel every 5 seconds so with 320 channels that means the longest any one channel would stay on would be............... uhm a little while.