PDA

View Full Version : Covering, or skipping lights.

cadcoke5
01-28-2018, 11:00 PM
I have in mind a design for a fairly large wireframe display. I am new to this, and read over a few pages, hoping to find a good overall guide. I didn't find one, but perhaps someone can suggest a good thread, if there is one. Or perhaps a sticky needs to be started.

Anyway, I see that typically 3/16" or 1/4" steel rod is the most commonly used for the welded frame.

I found a source for both the light strings, and more importantly, the clips to hold the lights onto the frame.
Wire Frame Clips
http://shop.christmas-leds.com/category_v3.aspx?categoryID=386

And they also have clips that have a hollow place to insert a white lamp, to make it a color. So, you can purchase just white lights, and then these clips permit you to change color at will.
Combo Clips for LED 5MM Concave & M6 Mini Lights
http://shop.christmas-leds.com/productinfo_v3.aspx?productid=CC-5MM-CONCAVE

Though, there light strings are up to 10x as expensive as the least expensive on the market. Though I don't know if there are any trade-offs to get that much cheaper price.

What I don't know if it is viable to unplug some lights to skip over lighting some portions of the frame. I suppose it would be possible to cut and solder in a length of wire. But, that is both a lot of work, and would reduce the integrity of your nice waterproof light set.

I have never examined a LED light set. Since the LEDs would be expected to last a lifetime, they may not have any way to unplug a light. I guess taping over them with electrical tape is one option.
Any other suggestions?

-Joe

Skunberg
01-30-2018, 01:31 PM
They make black caps that cover the lights. Don't remember who has them off hand.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

toozie21
01-30-2018, 01:38 PM
They make black caps that cover the lights. Don't remember who has them off hand.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk