PDA

View Full Version : Beagle Bone Vs sending/receiving cards for P10?

brichi
01-09-2018, 09:38 AM
Hey guys, I am new to the whole P10 matrix thing and am loving it, I have a BBB with an Octoscroller on a few panels as a test, running from LOR and Xlights just for testing, I have 60 panels total and plan on doing about 90 panels for December 2018 display on top of my 9 LOR Pixie controller i use now

My question is, Is BBB/Octo or Pi the best way to run these for DMX from Xlights/LOR? I see other things on the market like send cards and such but am not familiar with all that and what i would need. One guy from a website i lookd into said to use these from LOR or Xlights I need the 5A-75B reviving card along with a colorlight sending card S2 and a video processor LVP605S but that seems like a lot to just run the matrix from my computer

Any info you can share I would love to hear. The BBB is working but i see a little lag and issues i am trying to work out and am thinking this may not be the best way to run this project, thats why I'm starting it all now and not in November, lol.

thanks!!

Wichita
01-09-2018, 03:44 PM
I am using Pi3 with Ron's Adapter loaded with FPP for my 12 panels. I can run the panels either straight from the Pi or run it in bridge mode and use Vixen3 or Xlights from my PC. The options I know of are from the Falcon Christmas forum and they are Beagle Bone with Octoscroller, Rasberry Pi with an adapter, or Rasberry Pi with a sender card. The sender card option is still in beta as far as I can tell. But they all use FPP ( Falcon Pi Player).

jchuchla
01-09-2018, 06:05 PM
There's a few concepts here to understand, and some of these components can be used in different ways. So it's easy for a newcomer to be confused.