PDA

View Full Version : Yet another 8 Function Controller to Remove

joshlisa
11-06-2008, 03:15 AM
Looking for some help bypassing another type of controller. The string is LED's with a little plastic housing. The string is only in two channels. Red / Green and Orange / Blue. The string plugs into 240 volt. No transformer. I will attach some pictures of the open controller. I have two of these and was also wondering if I could run both of these sets of a standard SSROZ? I can bypass all me other controllers but these are diffrent......HELP PLEASE.
Thanks in advance.
Josh:confused::confused:

toodle_pipsky
11-06-2008, 03:45 AM
I'm no expert - so someone correct me if I'm wrong - if they plug into the mains, all you'd need to do is put a bridge rectifier in there (turn AC into DC) and if you're using SSRs change the triac resistor to 330R.

However, someone might have a nifty way of using the existing controller by modifying it.

joshlisa
11-06-2008, 03:50 AM
Quick on the draw mate. I have a few SSR's set up with 330's on board so that is no problem but if I can use the existing parts that would be great, If not the bridge rec may be the way to go. Any idea of cost on those as I have never gone looking for them?
I take it there would be be no problem if I wanted to run both sets off the same SSR (4 Channels). Use one Bridge......?
Thanks mate.
Josh

TimW
11-06-2008, 04:30 AM
Whoa....Easy Tiger!!!!

That round thing with the windings on it... 4 wires coming off to the board, right?

If so, I'm guessing a step down transformer... in which case the voltage going to the cct is not going to be 240V. probably closer to 24... (depends on the turns ratio)

Yes.. its Mr Careful again.... can we have a bit more of a think about this one pls?

Tim

toodle_pipsky
11-06-2008, 04:39 AM
There you go - quick draw McGraw picked that up. Told you I was no expert!

Like I said - someone might have a way of bypassing/using what's there.

TimW
11-06-2008, 04:56 AM