PDA

View Full Version : Matrix spacing question



lugnut68f
11-08-2017, 03:49 AM
I have 300 square nodes to use this year. Since I can't afford to spend the money for p10's (not sure I could get them in time anyway) I thought I would use the square nodes for a crude matrix. Question is, how would a 30w x 10h with 1" spacing look from as little as 20 feet? I just want to use it mostly for text and maybe a few lo-res images. I could use the strings to start wrapping windows or something else but that would be boring and nobody would really be able to tell until I can get enough for a goodly portion of the show.

Thanks for any input.

Smerk
11-08-2017, 09:14 AM
Perhaps good enough for scrolling text. Can you make a 12x25 pixel tree instead?

MikeKrebs
11-08-2017, 09:53 AM
you should be able to mock up the matrix by getting a ball of string and tieing the nodes together. 20 feet is close but should work okay

toozie21
11-08-2017, 10:49 AM
You can see my matrix live here scrolling text: https://www.ipcamlive.com/countdown2christmas

This camera is about 15ft from the sign. Text works well, two lines of text is good too. VERY simple animation is OK. Sowing something like a movie clip doesn't work too well for me (though it could be my error using the tools). These are strips that have a 1.3" spacing between them.

Just to give you a ballpark to work against.

lugnut68f
11-09-2017, 07:46 PM
thank you everyone. I think I will go with it and if I don't like it then just take it apart. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

jerry72
11-09-2017, 09:01 PM
thank you everyone. I think I will go with it and if I don't like it then just take it apart. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

You can always lower the intensity to make it more legible as well.

jnealand
11-09-2017, 09:48 PM
I have two window matrices that are 30 rows by 20 columns using 2" spacing. I have been very surprised at how well they looke. First used them at Halloween. Although I took some video it has not be uploaded from my camera or edited yet so nothing to show. I used plastic netting to make the matrix.

BobBee
11-10-2017, 01:28 PM
I have two window matrices that are 30 rows by 20 columns using 2" spacing. I have been very surprised at how well they looke. First used them at Halloween. Although I took some video it has not be uploaded from my camera or edited yet so nothing to show. I used plastic netting to make the matrix.
Hey Jim once you get that video upload/edited could you post it. Would love to see how that looks. I have one window those dimension might work for.

Thanks,

Bob

Rulos
11-16-2017, 03:22 AM
Does anybody knows where i can get a Net or grid where i can mount Bullet Pixels looking to do a Large Pixel Matrix, so im wonder if they already sell Grid with spacing hole to mount them.

please i will appreciate it!

angus40
11-16-2017, 04:44 AM
Does anybody knows where i can get a Net or grid where i can mount Bullet Pixels looking to do a Large Pixel Matrix, so im wonder if they already sell Grid with spacing hole to mount them.

please i will appreciate it!


https://www.homedepot.com/p/Everbilt-1-2-in-x-2-ft-x-25-ft-19-Gauge-Steel-Hardware-Cloth-308224EB/205960837


wider

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Acorn-International-1-2-in-x-4-ft-x-50-ft-Hardware-Cloth-HC24850/300180179

Rulos
12-04-2017, 11:59 AM
Hello Iím looking into make a Pixel matrix with a top Round form.
Iím between using
12 mm pixel or
LED strip with 30 pixels per meter as the below pictures shows.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171204/1f4f29cfd869c009e4cae348bd16855d.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171204/d01daf9664f0648e904787205a237693.jpg

If I go with the LED strip i will have more pixel density, either of this 2 options I will need to do power injections.

So for which one of this options do you think will work better.

And how Can I make this possible to control in vixen ? I was planning to install them vertical so I can have all the connections coming from below the matrix, but my question is since I have the top part of my Matrix curved if I will encounter any problems trying to display a right picture, what do you think?

Trying to figure out how this will be configured on the Controller FPP or PIX16 for the zigzag

Iím new in this so I just want to approach it the best way possible.

Thank you!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171204/3a03109121f48afefa9afcfd1cdb69a3.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk