PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with Kids Dance Prop



Semperfrank1016
03-21-2017, 08:44 PM
I'm new to the game and am having some trouble with my girls dance prop. Running Vixen 3 with Arduino uno and a 4 Chanel sainsmart SSR. SSR board is connected to its own power supply and I'm running just 4 strands of led lights. My problem is the relay board just want to scroll continuously through all for channels even if Vixen isn't telling it to. I can't even just get the lights to come on and off they just flicker.

MikeKrebs
03-26-2017, 02:48 AM
Post code or point us to the sketch you loaded.

Semperfrank1016
03-26-2017, 10:44 AM
Mike thanks for the reply. So I was sort of able to get it to work. I have for marque letters, so 4 elements in a group, I can get them to light individually but not all at the same time. The relay board has a 9v 1amp power supply running it, do I need more juice or is it something in vixen that I will need to assign? The one weird thing is that I will put the twinkle effect for the whole group and the letters will randomly come on and off as to resemble a twinkle but when I set it up to just come on I get nothing. I've also set it up for each element to come on at the same time and still not working. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

MikeKrebs
03-27-2017, 12:35 AM
So you have this SSR?
https://www.sainsmart.com/sainsmart-4-channel-5v-solid-state-relay-module-board-omron-ssr-avr-dsp-arduino.html

The input for board control says 5v. Maybe it doesn't like the 9v. For signalling, you can drive it with up to 20 v but control says 5v. 1 amp should be more than adequate as only 160 ma is required all on.

That doesn't totally explain what you see happening. How many lights can you get going at the same time? Is it just one? The twinkle code would be turning on one or more each period so it it would look like it was working but probably is not if only 1 is coming on at a time.

What kind of lights in the letters?

Semperfrank1016
03-27-2017, 08:16 AM
Mike it ended up being a simple fix. I needed the ground/ common from the arduino to the SSR board. Not sure how I missed it but I did. Once again I appreciate the assistance.