PDA

View Full Version : How to make different color light stands strobe

yellowdog87
10-24-2016, 02:10 PM
I'm new to the Christmas light shows. I decorate heavily around the house and last year bought a Mr Christmas and played with that. I built a 7 ft Christmas tree with pvc and plan to wrap it in different color light stands. My question is how do I make the different color light stands come on at different times to make a dancing or show effect instead of them all on at the same time

mikecentral
10-24-2016, 02:19 PM
Are you interested in having a computer controlled display? If that is where you are going, then you need a control board and some software. The software (e.g. Vixen) is free. The best control board to start with (if you are comfortable with soldering) is this http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?22450-SS-Renard-Kits-Now-Available-(current-9-16-16)

This is the short answer to your question. The full answer will take a bit more space :-). Checkout the many posts in this section to get a feel for what you need to do http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?51-The-Beginning

Jerry-Rigs
10-24-2016, 06:55 PM
... Mr Christmas ... 7 ft Christmas tree with pvc ... wrap it in different color light stands. My question is how do I make the different color light stands come on at different times to make a dancing or show effect instead of them all on at the same time

Welcome.

You need a "light controller".

I think the "Mr Christmas" is one of very low capability entry level light controllers you plug your lights into then just plug each light string into a difference socket. Mr Christmas turns the lights on/off when it wants to, sometimes in time to music. No insult intended, but they are crap. But they are also a "taster drug".

If you are looking to ditch Mr Christmas and do something nice, you will find lots of help here but first, I urge you to read, read, read. Then ask some questions. then read some more.