PDA

View Full Version : P10 Matrix



JCook
10-15-2016, 08:53 AM
Looking to add a P10 Matrix to my show. after doing research I have the following questions.

I'm using Raspberry Pi2

I plan to use Ron's Matrix Board
I read the max distance from the Pi board to the Matrix is a ~ 2m? so are people running 2 Pis?

Ron's site states the board drives up to 12 panels each, is that per each of the 3 outputs or 12 total for the board?
If i'm running a 6x6 36 total P10s what is the best method to drive them?

Ray Wu P10 panels are 1/4 Sac. Anyone using these?
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Outdoor-P10-rgb-SMD-3in1-full-color-LED-module-Scan-Mode-1-4-screen-unit-board/701799_32601471511.html

lightsonmontague
10-15-2016, 08:58 AM
For that many panels I'd recommend a pi3. They must be 1/8 scan


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
10-15-2016, 09:00 AM
And yes if you're using FPP to run your show you have to have a separate pie to run a hat anytime you connect a hat it disables the onboard audio
Unless you use USB audio adaptor

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JCook
10-15-2016, 09:01 AM
i was considering upgrading to the Pi3. DIYLED Express doesn't specify the scan rate on their site. What panels are you using?

JCook
10-15-2016, 09:02 AM
And yes if you're using FPP to run your show you have to have a separate pie to run a hat anytime you connect a hat it disables the onboard audio


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yes I'm using the FPP, i didn't know that. thanks

lightsonmontague
10-15-2016, 11:07 AM
DIYled are the ones I have. They work fantastic.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
10-15-2016, 11:07 AM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161015/814f3e4a0a22026e2f2d2c603f22e339.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
10-15-2016, 11:09 AM
Mines 20 panels 5h/4w a pi2 will not run my panels.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JCook
10-15-2016, 11:55 AM
that's a nice size panel. What matrix board are you using?


Mines 20 panels 5h/4w a pi2 will not run my panels.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
10-15-2016, 12:27 PM
Rons board


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JCook
10-16-2016, 08:54 AM
What length ribbon cable do you need between panels?

JCook
10-16-2016, 08:55 AM
Do you have plexiglass in front of the panels to waterproof them?


http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161015/814f3e4a0a22026e2f2d2c603f22e339.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
10-16-2016, 10:15 AM
What length ribbon cable do you need between panels?

Comes with cables. Only need to
By extra for the ends to get to next row. I got 15" ones. Yes plexi glass on the front


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CaptainMurdoch
10-16-2016, 01:40 PM
Mines 20 panels 5h/4w a pi2 will not run my panels.


Why not? FPP on the Pi supports 3 chains of 12 panels each for a total of 36 panels.

lightsonmontague
10-16-2016, 02:45 PM
The pi2 won't. Locks freezes up. Pi3 works perfect


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CaptainMurdoch
10-16-2016, 07:20 PM
The pi2 won't. Locks freezes up. Pi3 works perfect

Odd. Was it the same SD card, USB flash drive, and power supply on Pi 2 vs Pi 3?

CaptainMurdoch
10-16-2016, 07:22 PM
The pi2 won't. Locks freezes up. Pi3 works perfect

Odd. Was it the same SD card, USB flash drive, and power supply on Pi 2 vs Pi 3?

lightsonmontague
10-16-2016, 08:25 PM
Same everything except pi.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CaptainMurdoch
10-17-2016, 02:02 PM
Same everything except pi.


Ok, thanks. My test setup is using a Pi v2 and I don't think anyone else has reported any issues on the v2. Something to remember if someone else does run into it.

lightsonmontague
10-17-2016, 03:06 PM
I've helped a few others set them up but they were running 10 panels or less. Seemed to work fine. Btw. I've had to and had others set all the outputs equal. Is this required?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
12-19-2016, 11:52 PM
Mines 20 panels 5h/4w a pi2 will not run my panels.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I seriously considering P10 for next year. I love yours. Your size is about 50 inches wide and 32 inches high. I'm thinking slightly smaller, maybe 12 panels making it 38 inches wide and 25 inches high. I'll make my mind up when ordering from DIYLEDEXPRESS. I noticed someone mentioned matrix panel and you said Ron's. Exactly what are you referring too? I can't get much info on the step by step on Falcon because the link to P10's seems be be down. I already have a Pi2 but I have a Pi3 on order. Should be here Wednesday. Can I ask, what exactly do I need to get as far as hardware is concerned and can I use Vixen 3 to sequence? I plan mostly just using it for text. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

epnicass
02-23-2017, 05:37 PM
are your P10 panels form DIYLEDEXpress.com? if they are, Are they Full color? do you have any specs about refresh rate? i emailed them but no response yet
Thank you

pmiller
02-23-2017, 05:44 PM
I got mine at DIYLEDExpress for a 4x4 plus 2 extra. I do believe theirs are 1/8 scan and are full color. See post #12 in this thread.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

pmiller
02-23-2017, 05:47 PM
Btw, I run mine FPP using a Pi3 and Ron's matrix adaptor and one 5 volt power supply.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

mikeh65
02-23-2017, 05:59 PM
Try looking at this thread. It was a great help.

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?43947-P10-help-guide

pmiller
02-23-2017, 07:58 PM
Try looking at this thread. It was a great help.

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?43947-P10-help-guide
I've run into this before. I get a "404 link does not exist" error.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

Stormyblade
02-24-2017, 05:18 AM
Try looking at this thread. It was a great help.

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?43947-P10-help-guide

According to the thread you linked you do *not* need a Pi 3 to run your non-standard P10 matrix if you *do* have the BB (black or green) device. I'm hoping this is true as I ordered a P10 panel set (4x3) from DIYLEDExpress during their pre-sale.

dirknerkle
02-24-2017, 10:20 AM
FWIW, here's a how-to for making a matrix using the Octoscroller and the BeagleBone....

http://www.diychristmas.org/wiki/index.php?title=Building_an_Octoscroller_Matrix_Di splay

mrGrumpy
02-24-2017, 10:29 AM
According to the thread you linked you do *not* need a Pi 3 to run your non-standard P10 matrix if you *do* have the BB (black or green) device. I'm hoping this is true as I ordered a P10 panel set (4x3) from DIYLEDExpress during their pre-sale.

Yes,BeagleBones work very well, but you'll need an Octoscroller Cape to connect the P10's

DIYLEDEXPRESS
Octoscroller Cape
http://www.diyledexpress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=75&products_id=458
Octoscroller Cape Kit
http://www.diyledexpress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=75&products_id=459


Renard Plus Shop
Octoscroller Cape Kit or Board Only:
http://renard-shop.com/14-other-boards

Stormyblade
02-25-2017, 03:57 AM
Yes,BeagleBones work very well, but you'll need an Octoscroller Cape to connect the P10's

DIYLEDEXPRESS
Octoscroller Cape
http://www.diyledexpress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=75&products_id=458
Octoscroller Cape Kit
http://www.diyledexpress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=75&products_id=459


Renard Plus Shop
Octoscroller Cape Kit or Board Only:
http://renard-shop.com/14-other-boards

Yes, all that comes in the P10 matrix kit on DIYLEDExpress. I guess my comment should have been more of a question - sorry if I made things confusing. I guess this response tells me that you can indeed set up both FPP and xLights/Nutcracker to run your display matrix:

FWIW, here's a how-to for making a matrix using the Octoscroller and the BeagleBone....

http://www.diychristmas.org/wiki/index.php?title=Building_an_Octoscroller_Matrix_Di splay

aknflyer
02-26-2017, 02:16 AM
[QUOTE=lightsonmontague;438360]And yes if you're using FPP to run your show you have to have a separate pie to run a hat anytime you connect a hat it disables the onboard audio

Why is that? Any work around? I think this is the same problem I had with my remote pi's not playing audio. I was testing with GPIO pins enabled, probably same effect as using a hat.

lightsonmontague
03-10-2017, 12:16 PM
[QUOTE=lightsonmontague;438360]And yes if you're using FPP to run your show you have to have a separate pie to run a hat anytime you connect a hat it disables the onboard audio

Why is that? Any work around? I think this is the same problem I had with my remote pi's not playing audio. I was testing with GPIO pins enabled, probably same effect as using a hat.

You don't need a separate pi. Just get a USB audio device and your good to go


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dirknerkle
03-10-2017, 02:18 PM
Yes, pick up something like this -- they're dirt cheap...

davedecali
03-10-2017, 10:06 PM
Anyone know the size of the screws on the Ray Wu P10 panels?? The boscoyo strips had to be slightly modified to allow enough thread to go through.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
03-11-2017, 12:13 AM
Found them... M3 X .5 pitch


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
03-20-2017, 02:13 PM
Sourced a P10 aluminum frame from a Chinese vendor for a 5x5 matrix. I will hopefully have it in a couple weeks and report back but seemed like a good option as opposed to fabricating. Weight was an issue and didn't want to do the frame out of lumber. Not sure the weatherproofing applications but this will be installing out of the weather.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wolfie
03-20-2017, 02:22 PM
Todd's (diyledexpress) panels are 1/8 scan. I use them as well. I was pretty certain that Ray had 1/8 scan too.

There are only 2 PWM signals on a Pi. When you use a hat or use the 2811 output on GPIO without a hat in FPP, that consumes the PWM signals for the 2811 data. This ends the audio out because it also relies on PWM to generate the audio.

But, if you are using USB (as in a USB sound card or a USB FM transmitter), you are not using PWM for audio anyway.

davedecali
03-20-2017, 02:30 PM
Hi Wolfie, I picked up about 40 Ray Wu 1/8 scan panels and was looking to put these in a mounted frame. I have the boscoyo strips for a 5x5 so this should slide right into the channel of the frame I sourced from a Chinese vendor. Total shipped was just over 120.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wolfie
03-20-2017, 02:36 PM
Thanks. I was pretty sure Ray had 1/8 as well as 1/4 scan.

lightsonmontague
03-20-2017, 03:19 PM
Yes and A LOT of them. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
03-25-2017, 02:55 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170325/228f0a817d4279941f49195a8aa70eb5.jpg mocked up a simple frame for support. Thinking about a piece of plexi over the front and leaving the back open. Paint it black and call it a day. If the Chinese aluminum frame is better then I will swap it over. Originally had plans for a 5x5 but changed my mind once I visualized the actual size. This is installing in a overhang out of the little weather we get in California :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-14-2017, 11:03 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170415/d3210ae2b1f8c3868272c3bc396c9646.jpgbetter frame mocked up with aluminum and 1/8 steel strips. Using the magnetic mounting screws is a cleaner look in my opinion and lines up much better than using the boscoyo strips.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ryanssking
04-15-2017, 12:05 PM
Frame is looking nice. Do you have a better picture of the depth/angles the edges are using? I have to start figuring out a frame as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-15-2017, 01:14 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170415/834077752b1f8f7a4a296cd5221a7dc2.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170415/e51899cc24282459e22598bad370c340.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170415/61a622f4f7eebac1a6639c82ce214076.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170415/150ecbf7533bce5eb0c9e14a5197eb26.jpg there is a small channel on the front side to install a 1/8" piece of plexi but I am debating if I will need it.

ryanssking
04-15-2017, 02:27 PM
Some beautiful work! Everyone seems to use wood which I would expect to be heavy and harder to maintain over the long run. I'm surprised no one is out there making custom frames for sale.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-15-2017, 02:30 PM
I agree... had to go to China and this thing only weighs about 20 lbs tops. Need to add the power supply and cables but waiting for the distroboards. Very happy with the alignment over using the wood frame.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ryanssking
04-15-2017, 02:31 PM
Where did you get it from China and what was the $ if you don't mind sharing? I'm going to do a 4x8" with 64 units and need to make a frame this season.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-15-2017, 02:32 PM
Trade with this supplier via Alibaba App Shenzhen Hesheng Aluminum Products Company Limited
https://f2rq3.app.goo.gl?link=https://hsly.m.en.alibaba.com?firebaseId%3D230828358&apn=com.alibaba.intl.android.apps.poseidon&ibi=com.alibaba.sourcing&isi=503451073&amv=69


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-15-2017, 02:34 PM
Wasnt sure if that link would work, but it was like 13 bucks for the frame and a hundred to ship... had it in about 2 weeks... very nice to work with and I went with the slimmer style frame but they had several to choose from. They make the frames customs sized for your requirements. I thought it was flimsy at first but adding 1/8 steel supports for the magnet attach points made this solid.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ryanssking
04-15-2017, 02:37 PM
Thanks! Sent them a message on alibaba.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ryanssking
04-18-2017, 10:13 PM
Dave. Did you go with the 9025 frame profile?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-18-2017, 10:15 PM
Yup just looked and that was the one... deep enough to mount a 350 watt PS to the back and still mount flush to the wall


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-20-2017, 10:35 PM
I checked out your link and found this. Seems to be deep enough but I need more measurements. At the front there is a channel that looks like it accepts glass/plexiglass but no size is given. Also, when ordering do you give them a final size or do you order larger than you need and you cut to size? Here's a pic of what I looked at.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/8e786b3f384584f39682a487c5a0a424.jpg

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-20-2017, 10:50 PM
I recommend chatting with their representative and explain what panels you have and they will generate the invoice for PayPal payment


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-21-2017, 02:31 PM
I actually think this one is stronger due to the double channel. They did tell me the channel where plexiglass goes is 3mm which is just under 1/8" (.118"). I haven't discussed price but she did ask me the panel sze.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/b1a3a25538b38579d40f39f78904a4b2.jpg

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 02:48 PM
Nice... my concern was depth as it will be outside and against the wall and I didn't want the power supply to be exposed. And you will be surprised how sturdy this will be once you add the steel strips


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-21-2017, 04:27 PM
According to the frame specs it's 57.15mm. That's about 2.25". Just enough room even with Ron's Matrix adaptor attached to the Pi and Boscoyo ps mount. I could put the Pi with Ron's adaptor off the mount which will give me another .25" of clearance but it would work just as it sits. I'm using a low profile Meanwell and there's tons of clearance there. I took my measurements from the front of the Boscoyo strips assuming I'm still going to use those to mount the panels in the frame. I'm also assuming the P10's are not included in my measuring because they will overlap the frame making the Boscoyo strips even with the front (where it says 21mm minus the P10 thickness). The thing that concerns me is what to use for a back. The measurement shown on the product can't be accurate. It shows 92mm from front to back. If you add 34.85 and 57.15 it comes out to 92 but the picture shows a overhang (bottom right of pic) included in that measurement but the 57.15 doesn't include it. I'm actually considering asking for a 6" sample piece of the 2 different ones I'm looking at.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-21-2017, 04:54 PM
My explanation was probably lame so here's a drawing showing how I think the panels mount in the aluminum frame.36371

davedecali
04-21-2017, 04:59 PM
Hahaha... I was picking it up. But yeah you should be good. I haven't installed any plexi into the front channel but realized after I riveted the corners on, so I would use screws on the corners.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-21-2017, 05:06 PM
Hahaha... I was picking it up. But yeah you should be good. I haven't installed any plexi into the front channel but realized after I riveted the corners on, so I would use screws on the corners.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Glad you figured out what I was saying. Not sure I even understood. You can drill the rivets out. My current enclosure weights a ton and 1/4" plexiglass isn't helping. $112 bucks for a 4x8 sheet. If I go with the aluminum from I scrap the glass. Ugh! But, if I can cut the weight by a fourth it's probably worth it because I'm mounting this over the garage and it's easily 9-10 feet off the ground.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 05:34 PM
Yup... already dremeled a couple misaligned rivets but hopefully plexi will be next addition once I get the panels displaying correctly :/ my 5x5 matrix with cabling and power supplies weigh under 30 lbs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 05:35 PM
What are you having issues with?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 05:39 PM
I was waiting to get home to attach some pictures of the layout I had, but basically my symptoms are running a rpi3 with hat and the first 2 outputs run the first 20 panels (4 rows of 5) perfect... 5th row hooked up to output 3 is dark

However switching the matrix layout to a 5x6 (adding another row) without actually having the 5 other panels gets the matrix to test all 25 panels correctly.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 05:46 PM
Try setting all your outputs equal like 8 8 8 I bet it will work. Every time I help someone set these up every output must be equal

Also post some screenshots back of matrix's and fpp layout
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 05:50 PM
Yup and thank you for the suggestion. I will make sure to attach to this post some layout images. I had it working with a smaller P10 display 3x2 so guessing it's a setting I am just overlooking


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 05:51 PM
You say 8 8 8... how would that work for a 25 panel matrix?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 05:55 PM
Yea I know. Post some pics later maybe able to trick fpp


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 05:59 PM
How you had it set I'm thinking is going to be your answer 5wx6h


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 06:01 PM
Gotcha... so curious with xlights layout it will be correct as a 5x5 and I won't have any issue with effects displaying incorrectly?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-21-2017, 06:01 PM
Yup... already dremeled a couple misaligned rivets but hopefully plexi will be next addition once I get the panels displaying correctly :/ my 5x5 matrix with cabling and power supplies weigh under 30 lbs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
30 pounds huh. I just weighted mine. 53 pounds. That's a lot of weight to put up 9-10 feet and mine is 4x4. Guess I will be ordering the aluminum frame. Just need to figure out what kind of back to use.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 06:02 PM
I saw the guys who did vinyl, may have to find an option and then run a nice black duct tape seal around the edges


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 06:04 PM
Nope. Should work fine since fpp will be sending data to all the correct bulbs. It can send data to the panels that aren't there all day long. Because they aren't there it doesn't matter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 06:05 PM
Makes total sense :) I must have read every P10 panel post today at work planning my attack. Even did a search for installing even number P10 panels as this seemed like the only logical explanation of why it wasn't playing nice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 06:09 PM
You didn't read mine on fpp Facebook.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 06:11 PM
Work blocks FB :) but came across some nice write ups last night that really helped. But nothing would have prepared me for changing the layout to a 5x6 if I was only running a 5x5


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lightsonmontague
04-21-2017, 06:13 PM
Yea something with the pi all outputs have to be equal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 06:14 PM
Guessing a 6x6 is on tap for next year :) who am I kidding... may need to make it happen this year. Although just ordered that custom frame.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 07:45 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/04d52375a6eaac2c18295905ea7c897c.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/9f1dc05233145969778c389f6cb5ea7e.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/f61e3839a6c6d75e10ae9b7dcf52ec65.jpg think having a bad panel made tracking down the problem worse... verified it's a bad panel by swapping with another...oh well... but take a look at my layout to verify everything is correct


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-21-2017, 07:47 PM
Try the bad panel again. That's what happened to me. Turned out to be a loose connection. Btw. Don't put the bad panel in the same place. Switch it out with another panel that's already working. I thought I had 2 bad panels and it ended up they were good.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 07:49 PM
Noted, yeah I swapped with a good panel and it was bad in the other spot... I have 8 more panels on order from Crockett but won't see those for a while. May hit up Ray for some more and ask him to throw in an extra one to replace the bad one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 07:51 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/83e3698e153182d7f60791469435b7b6.jpgthe panel next to it seems off too... going to swap some cables and see what happens


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-21-2017, 08:03 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170422/280a219f73af6fd033c03401746702e6.jpgnow I know what to look for when a duplicate panel number is used haha... and no more bad panel


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-22-2017, 12:19 AM
Got my quote. $15 for frame and corners to fit 4x4. Shipping is $73 FedEx. I placed the order.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-22-2017, 12:22 AM
Not bad... I think you will be happy with the fit and finish


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-22-2017, 12:25 AM
I did tell them I was using 320x160 panels for an overall size of 1,280mm by 640mm. I neglected to ask if they are cut to size or do I cut them. Oh well. No big deal. Either way works.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
04-22-2017, 12:25 AM
They were down to the mm for me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
04-22-2017, 12:26 AM
Oh okay. Can't wait to get it.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

pmiller
05-10-2017, 10:58 PM
I actually think this one is stronger due to the double channel. They did tell me the channel where plexiglass goes is 3mm which is just under 1/8" (.118"). I haven't discussed price but she did ask me the panel sze.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170421/b1a3a25538b38579d40f39f78904a4b2.jpg

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
Do not buy from this company. I got my frame today and the ends of all 4 sides were damaged. I could fix 3 sides but the 4th side is too far gone. The company refuses to replace it. Here's what one end looks like.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170511/107a28d3a96c30bf64b720bc7afc8046.jpg

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
05-10-2017, 10:59 PM
Duuuuuude... that sucks... I guess I got lucky... but that is some BS right there


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
05-10-2017, 11:01 PM
Yep. I'm out 20 bucks for the frame and 129 bucks shipping. Sigh.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

pmiller
05-10-2017, 11:17 PM
I just filed a claim with PayPal. I don't expect anything from it.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

jchuchla
05-11-2017, 01:06 AM
Do not buy from this company. I got my frame today and the ends of all 4 sides were damaged. I could fix 3 sides but the 4th side is too far gone. The company refuses to replace it. Here's what one end looks like.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170511/107a28d3a96c30bf64b720bc7afc8046.jpg

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

What I really want to know: You're obviously indoors given the bare feet and carpeting. So what's with the propane tank?

MikeKrebs
05-11-2017, 08:03 AM
I just filed a claim with PayPal. I don't expect anything from it.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
Did you file a claim with the shipper?

pmiller
05-11-2017, 09:48 AM
Jon, the propane tank is for heating our enclosed deck. There is a 30,000 2 burner heater on the tank. Gets nice and toasty in there when it's freezing outside.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

pmiller
05-23-2017, 10:43 PM
Update on the damaged frame. I filed a complaint with PayPal. I got credited the full price. Then later that day I got a message from the sales person. They weren't happy. It's like they are blaming me for the damage. I'm told them I was the customer and received a damaged product. Who's to blame I don't know but I didn't receive my product undamaged. They wanted me to go after FedEx. Maybe if they packaged it properly it wouldn't have been so severely damaged. I did manage to somewhat repair it although not as good as I would have liked. The damage was too extensive but it is usable. Maybe from a distance people might not notice. I do like the frame. It's well made and solid. I just wish they would have worked with me on replacing it. They just totally refused. Not sure how PayPal managed the refund but I'm glad they did.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

davedecali
05-23-2017, 10:46 PM
Win for the home team... I installed some of those blind nutserts into the edges that allow for an m5 bolt and plan on mounting to the wall this weekend with some angle brackets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

atairu
06-07-2017, 04:08 PM
Can you describe how you constructed the enclosure probably with pictures?

mndless
06-07-2017, 09:33 PM
Do not buy from this company. I got my frame today and the ends of all 4 sides were damaged. I could fix 3 sides but the 4th side is too far gone. The company refuses to replace it. Here's what one end looks like.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170511/107a28d3a96c30bf64b720bc7afc8046.jpg

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk


I ordered two sets of frames from that company. They were very helpful and really went above and beyond in help and time for a very small two frame order. Thankfully, my order arrived in good condition. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with them.

pmiller
06-08-2017, 06:49 PM
Mndless, which company did you order from? Even though I got mine sorta fixed I'm still interested in an undamaged frame.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

goverland
06-08-2017, 07:32 PM
No need to worry about scan rate if you use a receiver board and you can go 100 m to it.

-Greg

covewi
06-12-2017, 11:25 PM
Does this look correct for my new P10 matrix setup in xLights? The matrix is 5 panels wide X 6 panels high. Each 2 rows of panels are connected to each other.
36688

lightsonmontague
06-13-2017, 08:10 PM
Yup.i Only would suggest top left some of the plugins like top left for some Reason.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jnealand
06-13-2017, 08:25 PM
I don't know about other folks, but I for one do not look at threads that were started over a year ago. It is always best for you to start your own thread and not piggyback on older threads. Reading 10 pages of old posts is not how I want to spend my time and therefore will never see your current question which may have nothing to do with the original problem.