PDA

View Full Version : Custom Props Editor



gizmohd
01-26-2016, 09:02 AM
I've taken some time off from V3 development over the last 12-18 months.. But, i'm back and have been reading through a bunch of old threads an such and I'm working on an addition to the Preview....

Drum roll please... well... its not THAT exciting I think... but here's where I'm going....

The idea is to give the user a way to 'draw' their custom prop on the screen using the tried and true x/y corrdinate screen. A user adds a number of 'channels (strings)' to the prop and can select that individual coordinates are assigned to a specific channel.. so that when that channel is told to turn on, the elements in the prop that are assigned to the channel in the grid will light up in that specific color...

The files generate when you are done creating your 'prop' are generic enough so that they can then be shared with other users in the community.

It's no where near complete yet, but I hope to have something ready in the coming weeks... Just wanted to get a grasp on how much desire (if any) there was in the community for something like this before I spent too much time on it...
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31519&stc=1http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31520&stc=1

I had my daughter play with it and she came up with the silly face...


Thoughts??

mndless
01-26-2016, 09:29 AM
That is awesome and perfect !!

I could put this to work today !!! :)

Thanks for the effort on this !

algerdes
01-26-2016, 09:36 AM
THANK YOU!

Looking forward to its release.

mharnish
01-26-2016, 09:51 AM
Just this past week I requested this in the Feature Request forum. This would be an AWESOME addition to Vixen 3!

Thanks!!

brettjm
01-26-2016, 10:30 AM
This would make life much easier
!

gadgetsmith
01-26-2016, 10:37 AM
Awesome feature.

JP90
01-26-2016, 10:53 AM
This would have saved me a lot of time this year with my custom star tree topper. Awesome.

PS will there be a place in Vixen where these elements will be stored for reuse?

jspiker77
01-26-2016, 11:06 AM
AWESOME ... this is the one feature I have been waiting for.

deonb
01-26-2016, 11:27 AM
Love it. It would be nice if you have the ability to load a dimmed JPG in the background to use as a template for the prop you're creating.

Alternatively allow copy/paste or import/export from a program that does allow loading a JPG in the background of the grid (e.g. Excel - CSV will do).

gizmohd
01-26-2016, 11:42 AM
This would have saved me a lot of time this year with my custom star tree topper. Awesome.

PS will there be a place in Vixen where these elements will be stored for reuse?

Yes.. the idea is that once you create the 'prop' its saved in your profile and you will be able to share/consume other users'props'

jcross
01-26-2016, 12:33 PM
Love it. It would be nice if you have the ability to load a dimmed JPG in the background to use as a template for the prop you're creating.

Alternatively allow copy/paste or import/export from a program that does allow loading a JPG in the background of the grid (e.g. Excel - CSV will do).

+1 for loading image behind it to trace or place lights (I tried this kinda successfully using the existing template manager and a temporary background image but there are issues with it).
I'm not sure how you would scale the grid to accomplish this but perhaps the grid could be disabled if desired when using an image.

I am building some elements out of pixels and it would be great if the software was able to be told to auto increment each click. I will have 290+ pixels per element and it is quite a task to associate all of those pixels

gizmohd
01-26-2016, 02:01 PM
So your looking for something like this right?

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31524&stc=1

That thats going to be there too.... ;)

jcross
01-26-2016, 03:04 PM
So your looking for something like this right?

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31524&stc=1

That thats going to be there too.... ;)

Yes!

I have been monitoring this on the dev side as it really interests me. I loaded up your 3.2u2 test build to see how it works. Looks like a good start. My graphic is not square so it didn't load up nicely (stretched the width and scrunched the height). I set the grid height and width to 1 to have an unobstructed view of the image assuming that points could be plotted and then resize later to make it the desired default dimensions. Am interested to see how this progresses!

gizmohd
01-26-2016, 09:35 PM
If someone is interested in testing the editor... let me know... I think were almost there... just need a little feedback.. and some refinement....

Gnarmstr
01-26-2016, 09:49 PM
Happy to help. Just let me know when your branch is up to date.

Geoff

gizmohd
01-26-2016, 09:51 PM
Happy to help. Just let me know when your branch is up to date.

Geoff
https://github.com/gizmohd/vixen/tree/VIX-969

jcross
01-26-2016, 10:46 PM
If someone is interested in testing the editor... let me know... I think were almost there... just need a little feedback.. and some refinement....

How would you like the findings? Back into this thread or...?


Jason C

gizmohd
01-26-2016, 10:47 PM
Pm or email me for now... Gizmohd@gmail.com


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gizmohd
01-26-2016, 11:08 PM
Or here... Lol doesn't matter to me :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gizmohd
02-12-2016, 01:48 AM
Well folks... I took a week off of development so that I could come back with a fresh set of eyes... and good thing I did.... I was able to get past my block and move forward....


Ive taken some screen shots and thought I would explain them here...

1. Editor form with additional menuitem (may replace current template engine???)

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31794&stc=1
2. New and improved Grid Editor... its a canvas one can 'draw' the dots onto.. not a grid to edit....
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31795&stc=1
3. Context menu showing how you add/edit nodes
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31797&stc=1
4. Add Multiple Strings/Nodes
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31796&stc=1
5 Multiple strings added to the display
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31798&stc=1

gizmohd
02-12-2016, 01:50 AM
6. Select the string you want to work with, and hold down the control button then click on the screen to add points
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31800&stc=1
7-10. Add more objects to the display
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31799&stc=1http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31801&stc=1http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31802&stc=1http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31803&stc=1

gizmohd
02-12-2016, 01:52 AM
11-13. Add a 'Nested' object into the eyes...will turn on with the eyes.. but can be controlled separately
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31804&stc=1http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31805&stc=1http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31806&stc=1
14- We're done.. so lets remove the extra strings we dont need
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31807&stc=1
15 - Custom Objects drop down shows the 'Face' we just created
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31808&stc=1

gizmohd
02-12-2016, 01:54 AM
16 - Dropped on the preview and resized
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31809&stc=1
17 - String type set to pixel... now lets edit the linked elements
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31810&stc=1
18 - As you can see there are strings for each of the 'elements' with pixels in the display
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31811&stc=1
19 - New Context menu.... now we can generate the ElementNodes based on the element we are working on
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31812&stc=1
20 - Shows the new 'Element Nodes' with correlating strings linked to the display element
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=31813&stc=1

Current issues:
1. I've got an issue where for some reason it's not saving the node relationships when I exit the form.
2. The selection box for the element is still a litttle 'off'

But overall its much more fluid to use than the clunky v1 I came up with.... I'm going to work on the current issues for a couple more days and once I get those figured out.. I'll post a test build.

jcross
02-12-2016, 02:30 AM
I'm excited to try this once posted


Jason C

mharnish
02-12-2016, 08:42 AM
Awesome, I can't wait for this feature.

Thanks!

RogerH
10-03-2016, 12:12 PM
I'm wondering if any progress has been made on the prop editor. Here's an interesting thought. If the x,y coordinates of an element, say a poly line, can be captured off a preview. Seems like a custom model could be made similar to that of xlights. I've made a spider web with 8 legs, segmented into 4 elements. Then 3 circles, each segmented into 8 elements. This is a total of 67 groups to make up the complete prop. The effects that can be made by doing this look amazing. But I'd still like to use standard effects on the whole prop. How can I get all the x,y coordinates of the whole group from the preview so that I can create a new custom group. This is probably a question for Jon.