PDA

View Full Version : GFCI only on outdoor lights?

ibby
08-14-2008, 10:20 AM
I am now out of power for my lights. I have been running them from inside my garage with extension cords but now that little 15 amp breaker has just run out of juice. I was thinking of building a outdoor sub-panel just for outdoor lights running off my air condition breaker. The one time i did use a gfci outside it would open almost immediately.

The question is how successful are people with GFCI outside in the rain?

Thanks,

Ibby

Michael
08-14-2008, 11:12 AM
DISCLAIMER: I am not an electrician, but I pretend to play one for Christmas lights.
The recommendations I have heard is that you need to use them for any outdoor power. I believe in some places it is even required.
If you trip a GFCI, there is usually a reason it tripped. If it is raining and they trip, then try again tomorrow when it dries out. I have tripped several, and it was all for a good reason. I even blew one out, but that is because the box was sitting under water and I did not know when applying power.

- Michael

ben
08-14-2008, 02:14 PM
WARNING: I am not an electrician either, just a speculator and person who can ++ his post count with this advice ;)

GFCI or not, electricity and rain aren't good friends. I put in 2 4 gang boxes with each having its own 20A breaker and own GFCI. I put a cover over them to keep out the elements. I do turn the breakers off most of the season unless we need power for something. Any outlet regardless of type, when exposed to water will trip. GFCI's are a good idea and like michael noted required in sme jurisdictions.

Ben

daviddth
08-14-2008, 02:55 PM
Here in Australia we are lucky in that most of our outdoor lights are 24V, and thats far from a lethal voltage, and we dont use ELCB's (Same as your GFCI's) except on the 240V side supplying the transformers.