PDA

View Full Version : What is the best way?

pmiller
03-16-2015, 08:22 PM
I'm new to Vixen 3 but I'm finding it's a piece of cake. Sequencing is so easy. However, I'm not sequencing with music. Being new that is probably to much for me to handle my first year.

Now to the reason for this post. In Vixen I made a new sequence for arches and another new sequence for my HAPPY HOLIDAYS sign. My first sequence was the sign. When I made a new sequence for the arches I noticed on the left of Vixen that the sign was still listed. Then I made a another new sequence for a megatree and that sequence also had the sign and the arches listed on the left. I would assume that if I did get into sequencing with music I would want all sequences in one sequence window (did I say that right?). Is it better to have everything in one sequence or each item separate? I do notice that in preview I only see the sequence I opened playing.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

jchuchla
03-16-2015, 08:51 PM
It's more important to think in terms of profiles. While there's certainly workarounds it's best to think of your profile as everything that's in your display for a given show/season. So if you have arches and a sign, they're both in the same profile. Think of your profile like a toolbox. Everything that's available to use is in there.
Each of your sequences may or may not use all of your elements. Depending how you play and schedule things will determine how you want to section off different things to different sequences. The vixen 3 engine can play many sequences at the same time. Keep in mind though that the vixen 3 scheduler really only is set up to play one sequence at a time. (Well, 2 actually but that's a bit different). We also don't really have a mechanism in place yet for chaining of sequences or subsequences.

--Jon Chuchla--

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pmiller
03-16-2015, 09:03 PM
Jon,