PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an older post on mini trees

c1evs
01-02-2015, 05:11 AM
Hiya all and a Happy New Year from the UK,

I recall looking last year at a post on a mini tree project. The member had used Perspex/corrugated sheeting as we call it, corro as you do (I think - forgive me if that's wrong).

The trees were pyramid shaped and then cut, folded or glued to form the tree shape. Then RGB led(s) were added with a sealed base. There was also a YouTube vid of the finished article.

I've spent a few hours looking on and off now. As I'm inherently looking for an easier option all the time. I've now decided to ask instead of looking (call me lazy - I will agree [emoji12]).

I'm after making a few of these this year and don't fancy reinventing the wheel. The template for that design and the how to would save time, probably money as well.

Cheers in hopeful anticipation of an answer.

Matt

Fresh101
01-02-2015, 09:05 AM
Hello Matt and everyone from this forum. I am new to this site/hobby and I am also interested to start with a few of this. Looking forward to see the post or guide. Thanks

Wayne J
01-02-2015, 09:27 AM
Is this the thread you were looking for?

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?35267-Derek-s-Dalek-Mini-tree-interest

c1evs
01-02-2015, 10:05 AM
Similar pal,
But the ones I looked at were an opal/opaque design with a solid pyramid shape (no hole in the top) and the led(s) were inside it.
The ideas the same definitely.
Although saying that I do like the idea of these. It's just outta my price range at the mo. With no pixels on the horizon yet and UK import costs killed me last year :-z.
I was considering using some RGB strip tape I have left over to line the bottom of them, for them to shine up and through.
It may have been a post within a post on recollection.