PDA

View Full Version : Welder, now what?

rjchu
12-31-2014, 04:51 AM
Wife got me one of these for Christmas http://t.harborfreight.com/90-amp-ac-120-volt-flux-cored-welder-61849.html

From what I can tell, the preferred material to craft wire frames and such from is 1/8" round rod/wire. Where can this be sourced at a reasonable price, what material should I be looking for since this apparently isn't suitable for stainless steel, and lastly what paint or other coating do you guys use to weatherproof your creations?

Thanks,

-joni-

imbluenote
12-31-2014, 08:29 AM
Comments from a complete newbie/amature welder

i have a similar one from sears.

I made a few snowflakes and have other projects i haven't gotten around to yet. I used 1/4" rod. I would look for a metal supply company, the box stores prices are high for any quantity of rod. I was also going to try 3/8" rebar to see how well that would weld with one of these. As far as coating, i did several layers of spray paint, i haven't noticed any real problems yet, but i do have a spot or two at the welds i usually give a shot of paint every year, i think i used cheap paint on the flakes though, a quality brand would probably hold up better.

If you don't already have one i would get an angle grinder (HF as well) the flux core splatters alot when welding so you'll want to clean that up. You may want it to clean up the welds too if you have a problem at a weld.

Also check your walmart for extra welding wire. For some reason the one by me has it and at the best price i have found, but i have only found it in that one wal-mart. I am sure there are others that have it though.

deonb
12-31-2014, 12:16 PM
Cool!

Exact same situation, but with one of these:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lincoln-Electric-AC225S-Arc-Welder-K1170/100041326