PDA

View Full Version : Troubleshooting swf videos in FireFox



Wayne J
07-05-2008, 01:45 PM
I made up some new videos for programming PICs. They are more detailed and narrated. They show downloading and working with the Renard firmware, using MPLAB v8.10, and the flash software of the programmer.
With these videos, you will see that programming is a very simple task and something anyone can do. The videos are short and broke up into sections for quick reference. So.... here they are...............


Downloading the .asm file, change it to PWM or non-PWM
http://www.jamesfamilychristmas.com/prog1.swf.html

Configure MPLAB v8.10 and build the .asm file
http://www.jamesfamilychristmas.com/prog2.swf.html

Program the PIC using MPLAB v8.10
http://www.jamesfamilychristmas.com/prog3.swf.html

Program the PIC using prgrammer flash software and generated .HEX file.
http://www.jamesfamilychristmas.com/prog4.swf.html

omzig
07-05-2008, 02:15 PM
Hey Wayne, you may need to remove the ".html" from your links for them to work correctly.

Wayne J
07-05-2008, 02:18 PM
Hey Wayne, you may need to remove the ".html" from your links for them to work correctly.

No, that makes them stream better. It is linked to the .swf ;)

omzig
07-05-2008, 02:20 PM
No, that makes them stream better. It is linked to the .swf ;)All I get is audio and a black screen that way.

omzig
07-05-2008, 02:23 PM
OK, it works in IE but not Firefox.

Macrosill
07-05-2008, 02:23 PM
All I get is audio and a black screen that way.

Me too! But at least I can hear it this time! ROFLMAO

rstehle
07-05-2008, 02:50 PM
I could hear 'em and see 'em......... :D

Outstanding Job!! This will make programming PICs much easier!!
Thanks for your hard work on these videos!!
Randy

rca
07-05-2008, 06:22 PM
Hey Wayne, it didn't come up for me in Firefox either. Looking at your code for your html page I think I see why. The flash you embeded has a mismatch on the height and width settings. Your code looks like:


<!-- Flash movie tag-->
<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"
WIDTH="818" HEIGHT="636" id="prog1.swf" ALIGN="">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="prog1.swf">
<PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high>
<PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#ffffff>
<EMBED src="prog1.swf" quality=high bgcolor=#332 WIDTH="636" HEIGHT="16777215" NAME="prog1.swf" ALIGN="" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer">
</EMBED>
</OBJECT>

If you'll look the width="818" and height="636" in the first OBJECT statement look correct. The EMBED tag though has them at width="636" and height="16777215", which is pretty tall. They should probably be width="818" and height="636" in the EMBED tag just like in the OBJECT tag.

Hope that helps.

Ron

Edit - I did watch them in IE for now though, nice work!

Wayne J
07-05-2008, 07:56 PM
Hey Wayne, it didn't come up for me in Firefox either. Looking at your code for your html page I think I see why. The flash you embeded has a mismatch on the height and width settings. Your code looks like:


<!-- Flash movie tag-->
<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"
WIDTH="818" HEIGHT="636" id="prog1.swf" ALIGN="">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="prog1.swf">
<PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high>
<PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#ffffff>
<EMBED src="prog1.swf" quality=high bgcolor=#332 WIDTH="636" HEIGHT="16777215" NAME="prog1.swf" ALIGN="" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer">
</EMBED>
</OBJECT>

If you'll look the width="818" and height="636" in the first OBJECT statement look correct. The EMBED tag though has them at width="636" and height="16777215", which is pretty tall. They should probably be width="818" and height="636" in the EMBED tag just like in the OBJECT tag.

Hope that helps.

Ron

Edit - I did watch them in IE for now though, nice work!


Oh, I was soo hoping that would fix it, but no go. I checked out the code in this video (http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/PicProgramming.swf.html), which was done in the same software, same PC, same settings, ect. and it has the same width/height code and it works with FF. :confused:

omzig
07-05-2008, 08:18 PM
This is a known bug for Camstudio. Check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ixsx4Smobdc

Macrosill
07-05-2008, 08:53 PM
Wayne, I recall that issue last time too.

jderba
07-05-2008, 10:07 PM
The Videos came out great!!! Thanks Wayne

Jack

rca
07-05-2008, 10:18 PM
Oh, I was soo hoping that would fix it, but no go. I checked out the code in this video (http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/PicProgramming.swf.html), which was done in the same software, same PC, same settings, ect. and it has the same width/height code and it works with FF. :confused:

I checked this video, and the width and height in the EMBED match the OBJECT, like I was suggesting. That is also what the video on youtube points out, just make them the same. Some weird translation bug so you have to do a little manual work.

Ron

Wayne J
07-05-2008, 10:38 PM
This is a known bug for Camstudio. Check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ixsx4Smobdc


OK, I will go in and fix what that video showed, as it was also posted above, but the video I posted above has the same 'problem' embedded in the html and is viewable in Firefox. :-| I will post again when I have them uploaded.

Macrosill
07-05-2008, 10:40 PM
Well get to it!!!!!

Macrosill
07-05-2008, 10:41 PM
Are they up yet, huh, huh, huh?????

Wayne J
07-05-2008, 10:42 PM
done... see if that fixed it

Macrosill
07-05-2008, 10:43 PM
That did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

rca
07-05-2008, 10:45 PM
Yep, all fixed. Nice job!

Ron

Wayne J
07-05-2008, 10:50 PM
good to hear, you bunch of pain in buts:p
I was wrong, that video was fixed, i had forgot, been about a year.


ok... now that is fixed, can we clean up all of the 'it dont work posts?' LOL

omzig
07-05-2008, 11:14 PM
OK...now it doesn't work in Opera.








Sorry...just trying to be the pain in the butt that I am! :p Works great.

Wayne J
07-05-2008, 11:43 PM
OK...now it doesn't work in Opera.








Sorry...just trying to be the pain in the butt that I am! :p Works great.

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y122/MERC460/smileys/banghead.gif







I'm just glad you guys found the issue. Thanks! ;)

toodle_pipsky
07-07-2008, 09:26 AM
Loved the videos - and the "redneck voice" wasn't so bad. Actually really weird to hear someone talk on this board, you all sound like text in my head! What's text sound like? Tree falling in the woods.

;)