PDA

View Full Version : HLS - Auto-Generate your Beat Track



JHinkle
09-26-2014, 02:11 AM
I'm betting very few knew that HLS could auto-generate a beat track.

I did the video below to show you how.

We use the DSP capability within HLS to extrack the BEAT from the audio.

Then we use Envelope Processing to make a discrete step wave of the DSP processed audio.

Then we use the envelope to identify at which Audo level to drop an Effect -- what color -- what intensity -- your decide.

Enjoy.

Joe


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omrtwMWURb8&feature=youtu.be

DrNeutron
09-26-2014, 08:14 AM
Thanks Joe for the excellent demonstration.
Back when you were implementing audio envelope processing I thought I would never use it and kind of discarded its use. This makes it easy to follow and use.
One question (I am not an audiophile so this may sound stupid), Do you have to do anything with the right channel? When you select right or left it shows 2 different sets of values. How does that play out when applying the audio envelope? Would selecting right channel and applying the audio envelope produce the same beat track as using the left channel?

JHinkle
09-26-2014, 09:43 AM
Your audio file is stereo meaning that some information exists on the L channel that does not exist in the R channel.

That is why you can hear different instruments around the room.

Your instruments may be dominate in one channel (L or R). If so - you are golden -- just work with THAT channel.

Vocals tend to be in the middle which means they are in both.

In the DSP dialog -- there is a checkmark at the bottom to apply the DSP filtering to both channels.

Bottom line --- use the channel that holds the best envelope for the instrument you are trying to work with.

By the Way --- make sure you go under Audio and click the "Remove Filtering" before doing you show or the audio will be that obtained from the DSP filtering.

Joe

JHinkle
09-26-2014, 09:48 AM
I have seen some people wanting a View-Meter like effect in the show.

A column of lights or maybe just a group of lights (pixels or RGB) that changes color with the audio level intensity.

Don't use DSP -- run an envelope on either channel and then assign an Envelope profile that maps audio form 0 to 100 in a certain number of steps.

Assign a different "Level" (if using incans or leds) or different colors if RGB and you have an automatic view meter.

Hope that helps.

Joe

DrNeutron
09-26-2014, 10:04 AM
That is a great idea! I was looking at NC to do this very thing with their Piano effect and setting to equalizer bars but could never get it to work with the current piano shapes. I believe the problem for me was that the model I was using was too small (only 8 X 8 pixels). I wanted to use each column of single pixels as a bar. I will have to play with this after I get my Halloween show up and running. I am still building tombstones for cripes sakes and I still have to re-sequence 6 songs for new elements.
How the heck is it September 26th already??? Someone please tell me it's only June and I have my dates wrong....
:cry:

JHinkle
09-26-2014, 11:22 AM
Right now --- the Envelope Process clears the channel of any effects and drops only the ones specified.

I could make a change that would allow you to PILE up effects from different envelope profiles --- If people would use it --- I don't like to create things no one will use.

If I did that then you could use a BandPass filter - HI Q setting (a single fileter provides a 3db roll off -- as you increase the Q -- you keep adding 3db roll offs on to each other making the skirts of the bandpass very steep instead of very broad (3 db - very broad --- 30db --- very steep).

You could then set the center frequency of the Bandpass to the piano note wanted -- generate an envelope and place effect based on the envelope level.

Do this for multiple note frequencies -- dropping effects of different colors based on each note and PILING them onto the channel. If effects collided -- the last effect placed would win -- but you could produce a piano effect.

Joe

DrNeutron
09-26-2014, 12:21 PM
So to get the visualizer bar effect I was thinking, I could use segments and copy those generated effects onto the segment channels.
I could take a 30 pixel pole and divide it into 6 segments of 5 pixels. Have each segment be an envelope level and have as many poles dancing to the song as I wanted going up and down as the song changed....and to mix it up have every other pole different levels to make it look random.
I think I can "visualize " this in my head working....
But.....
Do me a favor and don't work on this for 2014, I'd be too tempted to make it work...... :shy:
I'll bring it up AFTER Christmas.....getting too close and I am scatter brained enough as is.
:biggrin2:

P.S. Very cool idea!

Donny M. Carter
09-26-2014, 01:05 PM
Thanks for going over this feature Joe! It will help a great deal!

Donny

ErnieHorning
09-26-2014, 01:38 PM
-- but you could produce a piano effect.
Joe, I’ve been avoiding learning how to use another sequencer (I still use just Vixen) but you keep enticing with cool features that I’m actually looking for. :biggrin:

DrNeutron
09-26-2014, 01:46 PM
Joe, I’ve been avoiding learning how to use another sequencer (I still use just Vixen) but you keep enticing with cool features that I’m actually looking for. :biggrin:

Jump in, the water is warm and the price is right! :biggrin:

Donny M. Carter
09-26-2014, 01:50 PM
Joe, Iíve been avoiding learning how to use another sequencer (I still use just Vixen) but you keep enticing with cool features that Iím actually looking for. :biggrin:

My only regret with HLS is that I didn't start using bit the first time I saw it!

Donny M. Carter
09-26-2014, 05:48 PM
Joe, on the new envelope profile screen, I don't have the enable level bar slider. Did I miss a step for that to be present? Thanks!

Donny

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=24903&stc=1

JHinkle
09-26-2014, 05:55 PM
It must have been a the NEW one I'm working on.

Give me a few hours -- you will be surprised.

Joe

Donny M. Carter
09-26-2014, 06:07 PM
It must have been a the NEW one I'm working on.

Give me a few hours -- you will be surprised.

Joe

Awesome, thanks! :)

Boof63
09-26-2014, 10:44 PM
The Vdu idea appeals to me as well Joe.
cheers Boof63

JHinkle
09-26-2014, 11:09 PM
The idea of a View Meter --- several people PM'd me on this so I thought I would demonstrate how one might be done.

This is a quicky -- start to end in 14 minutes + 5 minutes off screen --- total arounf 20 minutes.

As I state in the video --- spend a little more time and you can make a Better one.

Enjoy.

Joe


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YYbtHG3lJw&feature=youtu.be

Boof63
09-27-2014, 02:10 AM
The Vdu idea appeals to me as well Joe.
cheers Boof63

Donny M. Carter
09-27-2014, 03:56 PM
I'm having an issue with auto generate. The video should explain. Thanks!

Donny


https://vimeo.com/107349501

JHinkle
09-28-2014, 01:08 AM
Fixed in 22B.

Joe

Donny M. Carter
09-28-2014, 10:13 AM
Fixed in 22B.

Joe

Thanks Joe!

Boof63
10-03-2014, 08:25 AM
HI Joe am running 22M and having problems with the Envelope Profile Dialog Box. I can select and enter the values and select the channels. However I can not select RGB Box (it vanishes as you move cursor over it).
Also select then channel button on bottom left of dialog box calls up the 'Select a Channel' box but it is empty- no channels at all in it. Also save profile sometimes works and other times just does nothing when selected.
Cheers Boof63
Ps tried on existing sequence using some candles-segments that weren't being utilised in the song. No luck. Tried fresh song (Music Box Dancer) and tried my working matrix (thanks for that) but same problems, sorry.

JHinkle
10-03-2014, 10:15 AM
You need channels other than a PP in the design grid.

The process works --- take a hard look at what you are doing --- I suspect you have no channels showing on the Grid.

Joe

Boof63
10-03-2014, 08:06 PM
is there anyway to use segments for displaying the vdu output?
or does it all have to be individual rgb pixels?

cheers Boof

JHinkle
10-03-2014, 09:24 PM
My video did not use RGB Pixels -- it used incans or leds.

You can use Segments.

Joe

Boof63
10-04-2014, 03:42 AM
OK still no luck, using rgb's, video attached explains - I hope.
Using segments or individual pixels has same result.
cheers Boof63
Here is link in dropbox to video, cheers again
https://www.dropbox.com/s/vinacsx3cm8zp65/vdu%20message%20to%20joe.mp4?dl=0

Christmasgeek
10-04-2014, 09:00 AM
Boof I just tested in 22N and built a RGB viewmaster if you put your pointer on the R G B or channel to include rgb channels and click it will include your rgb channels so you can select your default channel or segment, yes if you place the pointer over the selection box it disappears in 22 N, again just place the mouse cursor over an area as I indicated and youll be able to include RGB channels for your default

JHinkle
10-04-2014, 09:51 AM
The disappearing RGB was a Halloween Ghost that stop in early to have some fun.

Marshmallow Man scared him away -- so he is gone in Version 22P.

Christmasgeek
10-04-2014, 10:30 AM
Joe your a machine..........I know you were a Marine but do you ever sleep? Thanks for all you do!!

Boof63
10-04-2014, 10:38 AM
THanks joe works well now , one small glitch maybe, once you have saved a profile and then reloaded it, selecting save again appears to either overwrite the original or do nothing,
as the save dialog box doesn't appear at all
Otherwise works a treat thanks:cool:
cheers Boof63

JHinkle
10-04-2014, 12:05 PM
It over-writes and saves what you have shown.

I see buttons all the time -- I don't see what you are saying.

Joe

Boof63
10-06-2014, 04:48 AM
If you have saved a profile once, press save again because you tweaked something and it overwrites original. that ok.
But if you wish to save the tweaked version separate, you cant rename it, as dialog box doesn't appear.
Cheers Boof63

JHinkle
10-06-2014, 09:57 AM
That would be a "Save As" --- I did not make that available.

Joe