PDA

View Full Version : HLS - HORZ and VERT Matrix Pixel Assignment Wizard



JHinkle
09-10-2014, 01:15 PM
I have added Horz Matrix pixel assignment.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wK_E6kUZ1k&feature=youtu.be

Version 20X.

Enjoy

Joe

angus40
09-10-2014, 01:33 PM
Excellent tut . thank you Sir!

Donny M. Carter
09-10-2014, 01:41 PM
THANK YOU!!! I just assigned 2048 channels in 10 minuets! Thank you Joe!

angus40
09-10-2014, 01:44 PM
does it work at the output ?

I still cannot get my mind around how a 8 universe controller address 16 universes of data .

Donny M. Carter
09-10-2014, 01:45 PM
Yes, it works perfectly!

angus40
09-10-2014, 01:52 PM
wicked . so you used 12 universes ?

Donny M. Carter
09-10-2014, 01:53 PM
wicked . so you used 12 universes ?

16!

angus40
09-10-2014, 01:56 PM
Well I am happy to hear you got it working .

now you can get busy with effects :)

Donny M. Carter
09-10-2014, 02:05 PM
Well I am happy to hear you got it working .

now you can get busy with effects :)

Yep! Thanks for all your help!

Boof63
09-11-2014, 12:44 AM
does trhis mean i can now do my horizontal matrix as 20 strings x 75 pixels.
1. If so do i need to redo my raw channels the represent the matrix, ie 20 strings by 75 pixels,
currently it is in the vertical matrix setup as 75 strings x 20 pixels running top to bottom for all strings
2. could i setup horizontal using the exisiting raw channels ie 75 x 20.
reasons for asking is i don't wish to stuff up what i have now working.
if i change the format will it screw up any effects i have done??
cheers boof63

JHinkle
09-11-2014, 01:08 AM
I think you are missing an important point .... the HLS's matrix does NOT care how you build them --- if the are HORZ or VERT --- does not matter.

All I've done is give you a way to associate your HLS Virtual Matrix with the way you might physically wire them.

As long as the size of your matrix does not change ... you can change how you wire them every day and it will not affect any of your effects or sequencing.

Remember -- HLS programs your channels based on what channel appears in the PP Matrix grid.

One days you WIRE your physical matrix using Horizontal strings ... just redo the PP channel assignments.

Next day you rewire your physical matrix with Vertical strings ...just redo the PP channel assignments.

The wizards I provided make it easy to just redo the PP channel assignments.

Remember --- I designed HLS to NOT be tied to hardware ... you program your sequences --- let the physical wiring be dictated by your physical scene structures -- not your software.

I hope this helps.

Joe

JHinkle
09-11-2014, 01:13 AM
One last note that might be missed by some people.

You DO NOT have to build your matrix based on your string size!!!!!!!!

As an example ... lets say you have strings that contain 75 pixels but you want a 100 pixel matrix.

I does not matter to HLS if the last pixel of a physical string is inside the matrix boundaries. As long as you can WIRE them ... HLS will display them.

Using the wizards ... it is very easy to define where a string begins and ends within the matrix.

So ... DO NOT LET string size determine your matrix size.

Joe

bhasse
09-16-2014, 10:06 AM
After watching the video above, regarding the new matrix features, I tried to create a horizontal matrix with the auto assign channel feature. When the wizard auto assigns it does not place the strings in order from right to left, then left to right.

Here is a screen shot of the auto assign results.

24784

After posting this I got to thinking...I have not ordered the channels for output yet. Could this be the reason for the strings not being assigned in the correct order?

JHinkle
09-16-2014, 03:49 PM
No -- output is something else.

You do need to look at the order in the channel selection box --- HLS expects them to be in proper order to place them.

If they are out of order --- the placement will be wrong.

Joe

JHinkle
09-16-2014, 03:53 PM
Looking at your GREEN cell --- is there a reason you started at the bottom?

I always think of the TOP as the starting position --- I believe the code is written with that in mind.

So start TOP or LEFT --- the selections then allows HLS to start placing there or at the END of the stated cell row/column.

Joe

bhasse
09-16-2014, 04:07 PM
When I physically built my matrix last year I placed the first pixel in the lower left corner looking at it from the rear of the matrix and moved across horizontally left to right then right to left. When looking at it from the front it is just the opposite. The matrix worked great last year using Nutcracker and LOR. This year I am trying to learn HLS and use it for my show since I added many more pixels and HLS makes managing pixels much easier. If all else fails I suppose I could just manually enter each row, a row at a time.

bhasse
09-16-2014, 04:12 PM
By the way, I did check the channel list in the pixel channel selection box and in the raw channel manager and all of my matrix strings are listed in order.

JHinkle
09-16-2014, 05:19 PM
Just place the channels row by row.

The auto build will probably not work --- it will take two minutes loner to just assign the start of the row and then tell me to place left to right or right to left.

You should be done quickly.

Let me know.

Joe

bhasse
09-16-2014, 06:28 PM
I did it row by row and was done in no time at all. I am sure I confused the auto assign since I broke from the norm and went backwards. By the way, thanks for a great program and great support.

rjm12rjm12
09-20-2014, 10:39 PM
I have a newbie question, I have been trying all night to create a horizontal matrix(I think). I have 12 RBG strips with 150 pixels (450 channels), maybe I don't understand what it means to be horizontal or vertical in RGB. What I am planning is to do is hang them horizontally on my fence.
Whenever I try to create a pixel plane I get 12 in the x and 150 in the y. How do I get 150 in the x and 12 in the y?

What am I missing? I've watched the video, but still don't get it.
Thanks,
Rob

angus40
09-20-2014, 10:57 PM
are you using the latest release ?

if yes , create your PP as 150 strings of 12 pixels and select matrix .

when you are in PP editor your matrix will be layed out correctly

choose click on #1 in left most row and then you can select auto assign and follow wizz

rjm12rjm12
09-20-2014, 11:30 PM
Yes I am using the latest. OK great thanks, now when I go to preview and click on "matrix" it seems like it always has vertical checked and I cannot change it. Do I need to use custom?

Thanks,

Rob

JHinkle
09-20-2014, 11:51 PM
There is only a Matrix.

The term vertical or horizontal comes to be when you actually route your matrix for the show -- are the string going up/down or left/right.

Once you have a matrix define as a PP -- you decide what -- and can change anytime -- from vert or horx --- when you assign pixels to your PP.

Joe

angus40
09-21-2014, 12:13 AM
there seems to be an issue in the PP matrix grid with horizontal .

szaske
09-21-2014, 04:57 AM
There is only a Matrix.

The term vertical or horizontal comes to be when you actually route your matrix for the show -- are the string going up/down or left/right.

Once you have a matrix define as a PP -- you decide what -- and can change anytime -- from vert or horx --- when you assign pixels to your PP.

Joe

But we are not able to assign the pixel to the PP in the dialog because the editor in the dialog assumes we're building a vertical matrix. In your video tutorial you used a matrix that is 15x15, which does not have a problem because it is a square matrix, but imagine you are making a horizontal matrix that is 3 strings of 10 pixels. This is what happens:

1. Your "Manage PixelPlane" dialog nicely makes 30 pixels called S1P1 through S3P10. Sweet, everything works!
2. Then you go into Pixel Plane --> Assign Channels to Pixels. and you want to assign the top row to be S1P1 through S1P10, because your top row has 10 pixels on it. Then you notice that spreadsheet control in the dialog box only has 3 columns, not the 10 columns that you need. And it has 10 rows when you only need 3.

Having the right orientation is important because I'm planning to use a sequence of images with text srcolling from the bottom to the top (like credits at the end of the movie). I suppose I could use a vertical matrix to create the same effect, but it would require that I tilt all my text 90 degrees clockwise in me editing software, and that just gets confusing.

I think you just need to add some sort of "Toggle Orientation" button that swaps the rows and columns...and then it will work correctly.

-=Steve

angus40
09-21-2014, 05:34 AM
Hang in there Steve , Joe is working his magic and from what I see HLS matrix creation from manage PP > to preview is going to be a very click simple Process.

JHinkle
09-21-2014, 01:07 PM
Steve -- look at the notes for 21K

I explain that if your are Creating a physical H Matrix --- you have to swap the means of Strings and Pixels/string.

I hope I have added enough text to the creation dialog to keep is slightly clearer than mud.

Joe

JHinkle
09-21-2014, 01:11 PM
Just to Clarify ...

HLS internally treats a Matrix as a V Matrix --- with the terminology of Strings and Pixels/String.

In fact --- to the USER --- it sould only be a Matrix with # Rows and # Columns.

The distinction between H and V type matrix is how you physically layout your strings --- which I try hard to keep at the backend of the sequencing process.

Over time --- I will find all of the places that reference Strings and Pixels per string when working with a Matrix and replace the terminology with Rows and Columns.

Joe

rjm12rjm12
09-21-2014, 02:40 PM
Thanks Joe,

Now I understand, I was getting caught up in the vertical/horizontal nomenclature, the x/y clears it up.

Rob

szaske
09-21-2014, 08:04 PM
Over time --- I will find all of the places that reference Strings and Pixels per string when working with a Matrix and replace the terminology with Rows and Columns.

Joe

One of those areas is the PixelPlane Creation dialog. I walked through the process again, and got stuck here. The tool names things by String and Pixel. I would want my pixels named ROW and Pixel for horizontal matrices

Thanks for all the recent improvements Joe, we're almost there. I spent a LOT of time building my matrix and without your software it would be a HUGE amount of work to do anything with it.

-=Steve

JHinkle
09-21-2014, 08:46 PM
V21N -- I think I found them all.

Yell if you find something I missed.

Joe