PDA

View Full Version : Trying to find servo specs

toozie21
01-01-2014, 02:12 PM
While digging through my junk box, I found a couple of servos someone gave me a while back (~10 years ago). I can't seem to find much info on them online though. What I have found is that they are Astrosyn QH4-4276-01. The sticker says that they are 1.8deg/step 2.3V 0.7A. But that is all I have. I found a site online selling some and they have some additional info: 200 Steps/Rev., NEMA 17 frame size, shaft has an easily removed cog belt gear on it. 4 Wire, Has removable mounting plate with rubber washers.

Does anyone else know where I can find some info on these? I emailed Astrosyn, but I am not holding my breath. I am just curious on the torque rating and how to use them. I've never used steppers before, so some things might be universal across all, but I am not sure. I am not sure how to control it or remove the cog (I was hoping they might work for my nativity page turning project).

LightUp
01-01-2014, 08:02 PM
Yes, they are stepper motors. Being 4-wires requires a bipolar driver. I don't know the torques rating.
To control it you need a driver.
Are you planning on a DIY driver or a commercial one?

Search for bipolar stepper drivers and you may find something.
If you are into Arduino stuff then you can use L298 driver, e.g. http://dx.com/p/l298n-stepper-motor-driver-controller-board-for-arduino-120542 to drive your stepper motor.

toozie21
01-02-2014, 10:19 AM
I will probably be using a PIC, but pretty much the same idea. That is a pretty sweet board, thank you for bringing to my attention!

So would your guess be that this can turn a full 360 degrees (I think some only handle 120degrees, or something like that)? Also, there is no way to know where the motor currently is, you just tell it where to go, right?

LightUp
01-02-2014, 11:32 AM
Steppers would turn 360, like an ordinary motor would. Your software has to make it turn clockwise, or counter clockwise, and set the RPM.