PDA

View Full Version : Preview problems



timon
10-26-2013, 08:04 PM
Well, this may be two problems that's not easily fixed.

First, every time I try to draw something I don't get a nice clean narrow line but a huge fat line. I'm guessing something is just not quite right someplace and that place may be Wine. Is direct X used while creating props on the preview or only during run time?

Second, even with the fat lines once I start the playing the sequence it goes for a few seconds and we get a full crash. I can access the crash report. I'm guessing the second problem may be related to the first one.

I really don't know where to go from here. The Direct X that's being use is MSs. I could try running one from the Wine load but I figured its best right now to use the basic DirectX.

Anyone, especially Mac users, have any ideas

timon
10-29-2013, 07:39 AM
Update:

Good news, as of 16S preview no longer crashes when running.

Bad news, the existing elements are still really fat instead of the smaller lines they should be.

To be tested, I need to create some additional elements to see if they will be created correctly or if the lines are still fat.


I'm including a screen capture show what they currently look like.

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=20907&d=1383046544

JHinkle
10-29-2013, 08:04 AM
That is NOT HLS --- It's your MAC.

Please don't state a problem exists if it is NOT an issue on a PC.

I do not design for the MAC. If I can help -- I will -- but this is clearly a MAC issue.

I ask because users coming to the HLS Threads and see "Problem" or "Issue" ... and don't realize you are speaking about MAC behavior can think THEY will have an issue.

Thanks in advance for your MAC posts in considering MOST users are PC based.

Joe

JHinkle
10-29-2013, 08:06 AM
That is NOT HLS --- It's your MAC.

Please don't state a problem exists if it is NOT an issue on a PC.

I do not design for the MAC. If I can help -- I will -- but this is clearly a MAC issue.

I ask because users coming to the HLS Threads and see "Problem" or "Issue" ... and don't realize you are speaking about MAC behavior can think THEY will have an issue.

Thanks in advance for your MAC posts in considering MOST users are PC based.

I will see if Brian will create a separate Thread for HLS running on MACs.

Thanks again for your consideration.

Joe

timon
10-29-2013, 08:27 AM
Sorry, I'm not trying to cause issues. I did state all along that this could be related to Wine. Anytime I report any issues I always consider if Wine could play a role. If I think its a possibly I add that to my post.

I bring it up just incase maybe a parameter in a structure may possible be uninitialized or out of range, heck I've done that on more than one occasion, but Windows worked around it.

I would not have made the last post except that the crash I always got went away. The first point I stated was that the crashes went away. I thought you may have working on that section of the code. Since I've not installed any updates to Wine I figured something changed in HLS.

From now on when ever I post a but that has any reasonable chance it may be related to Wine I'll make it clear. Something like "Possible Preview Problem when running under Wine" so it totally clear.

JHinkle
10-29-2013, 08:33 AM
I moved moved this thread to the HLS MAC forum.

I have done nothing in the area of code you are speaking of.

The behavior is directly related to DirectX -- which you have been asking about that recently.

I suspect it has to do with how DirectX is used with Wine.

Joe

timon
10-29-2013, 08:37 AM
I will see if Brian will create a separate Thread for HLS running on MACs.

Thanks again for your consideration.

Joe

I'd title it not for just the Mac but for any alternate platforms since Wine is also use on Linux systems even more tha on Macs. Maybe something like "Issues when Running HLS under Wine or Virtualization" which covers any cross platform operation plus someone running under Xen on a PC.

timon
10-29-2013, 08:41 AM
I agree this is most likely an issue with DirectX.

Let me go through my posts dealing with Wine and send you a list so you can move those here as well.

timon
10-29-2013, 08:55 AM
I think I have even a better title would be, "Running HLS under Wine (Mac or Linux) or Virtualization". I think is makes it clearer and covers the two main way to run HLS on other than pure windows.

IdunBenhad
10-29-2013, 09:23 AM
Hi:
I am running a 27" iMac, but I am using Boot Camp and Window 7 and am having no issues (so far).

I have never run Wine but I did try Parallels and did not like it. Windows is better run under Boot Camp.

What I did find was that HLS does not like Windows XP and at least on my show computer, locks up. I have not solved that problem yet, even though I would prefer to run HLS, I can't. I have to stick with V2 or V3.

Sorry, Joe!

JHinkle
10-29-2013, 09:32 AM
Hi:
I am running a 27" iMac, but I am using Boot Camp and Window 7 and am having no issues (so far).

I have never run Wine but I did try Parallels and did not like it. Windows is better run under Boot Camp.

What I did find was that HLS does not like Windows XP and at least on my show computer, locks up. I have not solved that problem yet, even though I would prefer to run HLS, I can't. I have to stick with V2 or V3.

Sorry, Joe!

Idun:

HLS is running on a LOT of XP machines.

What do you mean it locks up?

When you do what?

Joe

IdunBenhad
10-29-2013, 09:46 AM
Hi:
I haven't tried it for a while, so let me go out later today and try to run it again and give you a good report on what's happening. I had tried HLS on two machines running XP and was not successful. I like to stick with XP as it has proven reliable and stable and I own several copies!!

Thanks for your quick reply, Joe. I will download the latest version of HLS and put it on the computer, which is an HP a610n with 1gb memory.

IdunBenhad
10-29-2013, 11:35 AM
Hi:
Joe, I loaded HLS 16t onto two XP machines. One a laptop, HP dv6000, the other a HP a610n.

I can set up a new sequence, add channels and set them to RGB and designate the Preview Group and Preview Numbers. No problems in the Channel Manager.

When I go to the Preview setup, I select Edit a New Preview and from there on things go bad. The computer response slows down to having to wait many seconds for a button press. Setting the resolution takes forever and when I try to load the Background Image, both computers lock up and I have to power down to get out.

Right now, the laptop is giving an error "Server Busy" and the only way out is to power down.

So, I can't get past setting up the Preview on both machines.

I will make further checks, not going to the Preview at this time.

timon
10-29-2013, 11:42 AM
That seems strange to me as well since Windows XP is so darn stable.

I've submitted my issues running HLS Preview under Wine to the Wine forum and hopefully someone has seen this issue, or something close to it, before. If not I'm hoping one of the developers is willing to figure out what DirectX is doing. There are two ways that Wine handles DirectX. Normally they have their own versions of DirectX but they can also run the native MS versions. I've tried both ways, assume that I did it right which I'm not totally sure I did, and received the same results. Anyway the guys on the forum are sharp so will see what happens.

Idun, Your tag line is funny but has your better half read it?:)

JHinkle
10-29-2013, 11:53 AM
Hi:
Joe, I loaded HLS 16t onto two XP machines. One a laptop, HP dv6000, the other a HP a610n.

I can set up a new sequence, add channels and set them to RGB and designate the Preview Group and Preview Numbers. No problems in the Channel Manager.

When I go to the Preview setup, I select Edit a New Preview and from there on things go bad. The computer response slows down to having to wait many seconds for a button press. Setting the resolution takes forever and when I try to load the Background Image, both computers lock up and I have to power down to get out.

Right now, the laptop is giving an error "Server Busy" and the only way out is to power down.

So, I can't get past setting up the Preview on both machines.

I will make further checks, not going to the Preview at this time.

Idun:

When you engage Preview -- you kick in DirectX.

I suspect you do NOT have any type of 3D acceleration on the machine so it's reverting to raw code mode --- REALLY SLOW.

I thought from your original post --- you were using the XP machine as a SHOW computer. ... Driving the actual Light Show --- not Preview.

HLS's Preview uses DirectX -- 3D accelerated graphics --- think hi-performance Gaming Engine.

I don't think the issue is with the XP/Computer --- You don't have a Graphics card capable of handling the Preview requirements.

Joe

IdunBenhad
10-29-2013, 03:35 PM
Hi:
Thanks, Joe. I had thought that maybe because the video uses machine memory that that could be the problem. I have a couple of graphics cards, so I'll plug one of those in and see what happens.
Can't do it on the laptop, of course. The laptop is for a special trailer that belongs to our Shrine Club and I built a 16 channel controller for it. I may have to continue to use (pardon the expression) Vixen.

Thanks again. Will check into it.

timon
10-29-2013, 08:10 PM
I've been trying to come up with some ideas about why Preview is failing on Wine especially since there are many games that run on Wine that use DirectX.

One thing I've figured out is that all of the drawing is being done correctly. Everything lands where you expect it to. The reason it looks bad is the pixel size it being used to draw everything. I don't know what it should be but it seem to be using something close to a 60x60 pixel. I suspect if the pixel size was the size it's programmed to be everything would be working perfectly. So the question is why such a huge pixel size.

I've not gotten an answer back from the forums yet however I did try using another wine package called CrossOver. This is a commercially packaged and supported version of Wine. I'm running on the 14 day free trial so tomorrow I'm gong to see if they will give me a little free support.

BTW, what is the pixel size that should be drawn? That may help them help me find the problem. Also, is it stored in a file some place?

Well, back to debugging.

JHinkle
10-29-2013, 08:30 PM
D3DFVF - D3DFVF_PSIZE = 10Hope that helps.

Joe

timon
10-29-2013, 08:50 PM
Thanks Joe, having that information may help and it sure won't hurt. At least there is a possibility to find where something is going astray, well just have to see.

IdunBenhad
10-30-2013, 07:40 AM
Hi:
Joe, I installed a GeForce 6600 graphics card in the HP a610N computer. I finally found the drivers and installed them. All accelerators are on, but I can't find anything about Open GL, so maybe the card doesn't support it. It took me a long time to locate the drivers for this thing!!

There was no difference in the performance. Everything seems to run great except setting up the Preview. It hangs and is Very slow and may not respond at all. I have looked at the machine and cannot find any reason for this to be happening.

Thanks for your interest and replies.

DrNeutron
10-30-2013, 07:52 AM
Try running dxdiag and see if acceleration is turned on and will also tell you other information that you can post. You may want to re-install directX, I think the last version for XP was 9.0c and was included in SP3 (I assume you have SP3 installed?)
If not, right-click on desktop and select PROPERTIES, then SETTINGS, and then ADVANCED and click TROUBLESHOOT tab. In there ensure hardware acceleration slider is pushed to right to enable full acceleration.
When you downloaded the drivers, did you get them from the Nvidia site? They should be easy to find even if the card is old.
Hope some of the above helps in some way.

IdunBenhad
10-30-2013, 08:06 AM
Hi:
Thanks for the tips. I'm sure SP3 is in there, but will check.

I got the drivers from Nvidia, but it was hard to locate for this particular card, which apparently was made by Jaton.

I will check out the machine later, and thanks again.

JHinkle
10-30-2013, 09:01 AM
Hi:
Joe, I installed a GeForce 6600 graphics card in the HP a610N computer. I finally found the drivers and installed them. All accelerators are on, but I can't find anything about Open GL, so maybe the card doesn't support it. It took me a long time to locate the drivers for this thing!!

There was no difference in the performance. Everything seems to run great except setting up the Preview. It hangs and is Very slow and may not respond at all. I have looked at the machine and cannot find any reason for this to be happening.

Thanks for your interest and replies.

I don't use Open GL.

Go into the Library folder and find the file DebugGraphicsAdapter.txt.

When you engage Preview --- I write a LOT of information about what I find about your Graphic card and DirectX implementation.

THAT information can help greatly in figuring out what is going on.

Hope that helps.

Joe

DrNeutron
10-30-2013, 09:37 AM
Thanks for that Joe, I didn't know that bit of information.

timon
10-30-2013, 09:41 PM
Go into the Library folder and find the file DebugGraphicsAdapter.txt.

When you engage Preview --- I write a LOT of information about what I find about your Graphic card and DirectX implementation.

THAT information can help greatly in figuring out what is going on.

Hope that helps.

Joe

FYI, here is the information when running under Wine.


Number of Adapters = 1
Requested Window Size W = 1280 H = 760
Adapter Size W = 1920 H = 1200 Refresh 60
Adapter Format 22 - D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1200 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 960 H = 600 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1344 H = 840 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 800 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1024 H = 768 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1024 H = 640 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 840 H = 524 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 800 H = 600 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 800 H = 500 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 640 H = 480 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 960 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1344 H = 1008 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 1200 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 1000 Refresh 60
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_SURFACE, D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_VERTEXBUFFER, D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_SURFACE, D3DFMT_A8R8G8B8
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_VERTEXBUFFER, D3DFMT_A8R8G8B8
AdapterOrdinal 0
Caps 0
Caps2 1610743808
Caps3 800
PresentationIntervals 2147483649
CursorCaps 3
DevCaps 1683440
PrimitiveMiscCaps 2772978
RasterCaps 120791441
ZCmpCaps 255
SrcBlendCaps 16383
DestBlendCaps 9215
AlphaCmpCaps 255
ShadeCaps 541192
TextureCaps 126085
TextureFilterCaps 117638912
CubeTextureFilterCaps 117638912
VolumeTextureFilterCaps 50529024
TextureAddressCaps 63
VolumeTextureAddressCaps 63
LineCaps 31
MaxTextureWidth 8192
MaxTextureHeight 8192
MaxVolumeExtent 8192
MaxTextureRepeat 32768
MaxTextureAspectRatio 8192
MaxAnisotropy 16
MaxVertexW 1.000000
GuardBandLeft 0.000000
GuardBandTop 0.000000
GuardBandRight 0.000000
GuardBandBottom 0.000000
ExtentsAdjust 0.000000
StencilCaps 511
FVFCaps 1048584
Point Size Supported in FVF structure 1
TextureOpCaps 67043327
MaxTextureBlendStages 8
MaxSimultaneousTextures 8
VertexProcessingCaps 315
MaxActiveLights 8
MaxUserClipPlanes 6
MaxVertexBlendMatrices 0
MaxVertexBlendMatrixIndex 0
MaxPointSize 64.000000
MaxPrimitiveCount 1048575
MaxVertexIndex 1048575
MaxStreams 16
MaxStreamStride 1024
VertexShaderVersion 4294836992
MaxVertexShaderConst 256
PixelShaderVersion 4294902528
PixelShader1xMaxValue 8.000000
DevCaps2 81
Vertex Buffers containing transformed vertices from video 0
Vertex Buffers containing transformed vertices from system memory 1
MasterAdapterOrdinal 0
AdapterOrdinalInGroup 0
NumberOfAdaptersInGroup 1
VertexTextureFilterCaps 0


Driver - ati2dvag.dll
Description - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
DeviceName - \\.\DISPLAY1
Driver Version Lo Hi - 6000E000A21E9
VendorId - 1002
DeviceId - 9581
SubSysId - 0
Revision - 0
OK Check Device Type D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
PresentationInterval D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_ONE OK
PresentationInterval D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_IMMEDIATE OK
PresentationInterval D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_DEFAULT Failed

JHinkle
10-30-2013, 10:15 PM
For what's worth --- here is mine for comparison.

Number of Adapters = 1
Requested Window Size W = 1600 H = 748
Adapter Size W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 59
Adapter Format 22 - D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 640 H = 480 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 640 H = 480 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 640 H = 480 Refresh 72
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 640 H = 480 Refresh 75
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 720 H = 480 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 720 H = 480 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 720 H = 480 Refresh 29
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 720 H = 480 Refresh 30
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 720 H = 576 Refresh 50
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 720 H = 576 Refresh 25
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 800 H = 600 Refresh 56
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 800 H = 600 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 800 H = 600 Refresh 72
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 800 H = 600 Refresh 75
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1024 H = 768 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1024 H = 768 Refresh 70
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1024 H = 768 Refresh 75
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1152 H = 864 Refresh 75
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1176 H = 664 Refresh 50
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1176 H = 664 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1176 H = 664 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 720 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 720 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 720 Refresh 50
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 768 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 800 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 960 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 1024 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1280 H = 1024 Refresh 75
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1360 H = 768 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1366 H = 768 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 900 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 900 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 1024 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 1024 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1600 H = 1200 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1680 H = 1050 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1680 H = 1050 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1768 H = 992 Refresh 25
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1768 H = 992 Refresh 30
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1768 H = 992 Refresh 29
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 59
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 30
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 29
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 50
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1920 H = 1080 Refresh 25
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1440 H = 900 Refresh 60
Adapter Size with Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 --- W = 1400 H = 1050 Refresh 60
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_SURFACE, D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_VERTEXBUFFER, D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_SURFACE, D3DFMT_A8R8G8B8
Failed Check Device Format D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 D3DRTYPE_VERTEXBUFFER, D3DFMT_A8R8G8B8
AdapterOrdinal 0
Caps 131072
Caps2 3758227456
Caps3 928
PresentationIntervals 2147483663
CursorCaps 1
DevCaps 1818352
PrimitiveMiscCaps 3133170
RasterCaps 124985745
ZCmpCaps 255
SrcBlendCaps 16383
DestBlendCaps 16383
AlphaCmpCaps 255
ShadeCaps 541192
TextureCaps 126149
TextureFilterCaps 50530048
CubeTextureFilterCaps 50529024
VolumeTextureFilterCaps 50529024
TextureAddressCaps 63
VolumeTextureAddressCaps 63
LineCaps 31
MaxTextureWidth 8192
MaxTextureHeight 8192
MaxVolumeExtent 2048
MaxTextureRepeat 8192
MaxTextureAspectRatio 8192
MaxAnisotropy 16
MaxVertexW 10000000000.000000
GuardBandLeft -100000000.000000
GuardBandTop -100000000.000000
GuardBandRight 100000000.000000
GuardBandBottom 100000000.000000
ExtentsAdjust 0.000000
StencilCaps 511
FVFCaps 1572872
Point Size Supported in FVF structure 1
TextureOpCaps 67043327
MaxTextureBlendStages 8
MaxSimultaneousTextures 8
VertexProcessingCaps 315
MaxActiveLights 8
MaxUserClipPlanes 8
MaxVertexBlendMatrices 4
MaxVertexBlendMatrixIndex 0
MaxPointSize 8192.000000
MaxPrimitiveCount 8388607
MaxVertexIndex 16777215
MaxStreams 16
MaxStreamStride 255
VertexShaderVersion 4294836992
MaxVertexShaderConst 256
PixelShaderVersion 4294902528
PixelShader1xMaxValue 65504.000000
DevCaps2 81
Vertex Buffers containing transformed vertices from video 0
Vertex Buffers containing transformed vertices from system memory 1
MasterAdapterOrdinal 0
AdapterOrdinalInGroup 0
NumberOfAdaptersInGroup 1
VertexTextureFilterCaps 50530048


Driver - nvd3dum.dll
Description - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280
DeviceName - \\.\DISPLAY1
Driver Version Lo Hi - 90012000D0AA3
VendorId - 10DE
DeviceId - 5E1
SubSysId - 12843842
Revision - A1
OK Check Device Type D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
PresentationInterval D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_ONE OK
PresentationInterval D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_IMMEDIATE OK
PresentationInterval D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_DEFAULT Failed



By the way .... don't ask me what they all mean ... I don't know.

I grabbed the data with the understanding that if an issue came up ... like yours .... comparing the data and finding a difference --- then investigating that difference --- may lead to an understanding.


Joe

timon
10-30-2013, 10:25 PM
Not knowing what parameters are important a simple glance does not show anything yelling out. I was worried about the 4 failed device checks but yours has them as well.

Oh well.

JHinkle
10-30-2013, 10:45 PM
I quickly looked at vertex point data.

Your max point size is 64 where mine is 8192.

Don't know --- but that might equate in bigger points being drawn.

Joe

JHinkle
10-30-2013, 10:50 PM
John:

Go to the HLS site.

Download John_MacTest.zip and try it.

I changed the point size from 10 to 2.

Let's see how that affects your display.

Let me know.

Joe

timon
10-30-2013, 11:23 PM
Will do as soon as Survivor is over:)

angus40
10-30-2013, 11:44 PM
Will do as soon as Survivor is over:)

If this is your gpu you may want to upgrade >>

http://www.ebay.com/bhp/ati-radeon-hd-2600

The data you provided from the debug shows a possible lack of ram on this adapter . >>.

MaxPrimitiveCount 1048575 <<<your card

MaxPrimitiveCount 8388607 <<<< Joe's card I believe it is 1gig

MaxPrimitiveCount 16777215 <<< My card 2 gig

Just a thought

timon
10-31-2013, 05:31 AM
John:

Go to the HLS site.

Download John_MacTest.zip and try it.

I changed the point size from 10 to 2.

Let's see how that affects your display.

Let me know.

Joe

As far as the eye can see there was no change. The pixel that's being drawn seems to be the same size.





BTW, here is the information on my graphics card. It is only a 256MB card but I would think that's enough.

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x9583
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-B2250L-259
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.259
Displays:
iMac:
Display Type: LCD
Resolution: 1920 x 1200
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Built-In: Yes
AL1716:
Resolution: 1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Display Serial Number: 53401DC6PY11
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported

angus40
10-31-2013, 11:02 AM
Unfortunately the ati 2400 and 2600 series graphics interfaces were under achievers when it comes to 3d rendering. The draw capablity is a direct

measure relaitive to the MaxPrimitiveCount .

Have you tried updating the drivers ?

http://driverscollection.com/?H=Radeon%20HD%202600%20Pro&By=ATI

timon
10-31-2013, 11:09 AM
I'm running Mountain Lion and the drivers are solid. I've run some video intensive video editing without any real problems. That said Crosover now supports Mavericks which has kits of improvements so I can try that. But before I do any of that I want to see what Coadweavers says since I think it's more than a lower proformance GPU. Having the pixel being drawn at 6 to 10 time. The requested size looks more like a bug to me.

kingofkya
10-31-2013, 11:38 AM
I dont knwo if this will help but on linux i alwasy had issues with ati cards under wine the (onboard)0 intel and nvidia always worked better. From what i remember it was because of the DirectX to OpenGl conversion. And the nvidia at that time had a better open gl firmware.

IF you run hls from the console do you get any interesting errors?

timon
10-31-2013, 11:44 AM
Haven't tried that. Need to fine out how and try it.

timon
10-31-2013, 11:57 AM
BTW, are some of the Mac users here willing to give this a try so we can see if it's a video card issue? Crossover is quick to install and the test for the problem is very quick to do. My quest test with a new preview window is just to try drawing an arch. If you get bit pixels it's failed, it's just that simple.

Joe, One thing I noticed is that as I said it fails when I try to draw an arch but when I start drawing a line the line looks normal until I hit the space bar. At that point I can setup the pixels but once everything is done the final line gets drawn with big pixels. I suppect at the beginning your using simple line drawing commands but at the end it turned into a directx draw.

JHinkle
10-31-2013, 12:41 PM
No --- they are all directx functions. SPACE bar is where pixels (vertex points) replace arc segment. One is line drawing - the other is placing points on the line.

How many pixels are you trying to pack into a line segment?

Have you tried a very small number to see how that impacts your display?

Joe

kingofkya
10-31-2013, 12:44 PM
NVM I did't read it fully.



No --- they are all directx functions.

How many pixels are you trying to pack into a line segment?

Have you tried a very small number to see how that impacts your display?

Joe

Yes but... in order for linux or mac to display gpu stuff like this they must convert DirectX into openGL its just how it works,witch is most likely the issue here is a conversion is going wrong.

timon
10-31-2013, 07:04 PM
I did a simple straight line of 50 pixels and use one of my arches as the source.

When I drew the line it was just perfect.

I assigned the 50 pixels and that went perfect.

When I finished and hit that last "OK" bingo, there was my line with fat pixels.

Assigned the test preview as current, played Wizards and it followed the song perfectly.

This is so exasperating since it's actually doing everything right except the pixels are just too darn big.

I even removed the D3DX9_43.dll that comes with HLS to make sure that Wine would use the one they supply thinking it pure. Still have fat pixels. I'm going to have Wine force different newer Directs but I don't think anything is going to make a difference.

As I said it's so darn close but no joy. Exasperating pure and simple.

JHinkle
10-31-2013, 08:06 PM
Has the Wine support Group responded with any suggestions?

Have you forwarded the issue to the Wine group?

It is pure DirectX - I would think they would be interested in resolving the issue.

You even have a test that you can send them so they can debug it (Your HLS Preview). If they get an application that exhibits wrong behavior along with a debugger -- they should resolve it quickly.

Joe

timon
10-31-2013, 11:30 PM
Has the Wine support Group responded with any suggestions?

Have you forwarded the issue to the Wine group?

It is pure DirectX - I would think they would be interested in resolving the issue.

You even have a test that you can send them so they can debug it (Your HLS Preview). If they get an application that exhibits wrong behavior along with a debugger -- they should resolve it quickly.

Joe

Not heard back yet.

It's been submitted to both the Wine Forum and the Crossover team.

Yes, it's very easy to test with just a very basic sequence. In fact you really don't even need a sequence just enough to create a preview then try to add an arch. As soon as you start to draw the arch you see the problem.

I agree that they should be able to fin the problem quickly.