PDA

View Full Version : Well it's a start. My website



animal
03-02-2008, 08:03 PM
Ok be kind. I have alot to learn. I wanted to launch the website this weekend so I did. I used Josh's suggestion for a free web host. Here's the post.

http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2677

I have alot of updateing to do. I"ll be showing everything I do to get this display up and running in time for Christmas. From the computer I'm building,to all the controlers, megatree, everything. I am hopeing I can help and contribute in some simple and fun way to this comunity. Hey I never built a web site before, cool!!!!!!!!!! Like I said be kind. I still have alot of work to do to the website.

animal

http://www.p-and-s-christmaslights.com

Josh
03-02-2008, 08:13 PM
Hey, looks great man.
one suggestion is to shorten the page length, take out some of that huge whitespace.
I really have no room to talk, i have nothing on my site yet lol.

also check back on my post i posted a bunch of information. lots of helpful HTML there.
feel free to hit me up with pm, or AIM as well.

TERBObob
03-02-2008, 09:08 PM
Very nice ... but you need to set it to auto adjust for size and browser being used .

WWNF911
03-03-2008, 03:40 AM
Wow! Looks great animal. Just a thought. I've seen alot of sites counting down to christmas. Wouldn't it make more sense to count down to GO LIVE? Since that will occur about 30 days before Christmas. 297 days gives you a false sense of security. :)

Leon

animal
03-03-2008, 02:01 PM
Hey, looks great man.
one suggestion is to shorten the page length, take out some of that huge whitespace.
I really have no room to talk, i have nothing on my site yet lol.

also check back on my post i posted a bunch of information. lots of helpful HTML there.
feel free to hit me up with pm, or AIM as well.

Yep, I still need to complete the home page. I'll have to see if I can play with the format some more.
Thanks

Very nice ... but you need to set it to auto adjust for size and browser being used.

Your right. I got to figure how to do that.


Wow! Looks great animal. Just a thought. I've seen alot of sites counting down to christmas. Wouldn't it make more sense to count down to GO LIVE? Since that will occur about 30 days before Christmas. 297 days gives you a false sense of security.

Leon

That makes alot of sense. Ok I'll have to figure how to do that too. I'm learning alot.

animal

robots4joey
03-03-2008, 06:25 PM
Am I using something wrong? my website through tose guys had to have .000webhost.com tagged on the end of it. Did you have pay for your domain name?


Thanks!

-Joey

Here's the site so far:
www.joeymarshall.000webhost.com/home.html

animal
03-03-2008, 09:16 PM
Am I using something wrong? my website through tose guys had to have .000webhost.com tagged on the end of it. Did you have pay for your domain name?


Thanks!

-Joey

Here's the site so far:
www.joeymarshall.000webhost.com/home.html

Yea Joey,
I registered it at
http://www.active-domain.com/
then I redirected it to
http://www.000webhost.com/
works pretty good.


animal

animal
03-03-2008, 10:27 PM
Ok i took the advise I was given. I worked the home page. Let me know if I'm on the right track. Thanks

animal


http://www.p-and-s-christmaslights.com

ben
03-04-2008, 06:04 PM
Just FYI, I see homeade rocket engines. What kind of engine do you do? I started working with HTPB making APCP composite this year. Are you doing similar or is this something I should keep up with you when you start running? ;)

Ben

animal
03-04-2008, 07:37 PM
Just FYI, I see homeade rocket engines. What kind of engine do you do? I started working with HTPB making APCP composite this year. Are you doing similar or is this something I should keep up with you when you start running? ;)

Ben


That's Josh's site


animal

Josh
03-04-2008, 08:03 PM
That's Josh's site


animal

nope, not mine, thats Joey's site :D

don't have the money for another $$$ hole hobby, though i used to do alot of estes rockets and such

animal
03-04-2008, 08:06 PM
woops

sorry



animal

robots4joey
03-04-2008, 11:44 PM
Ahhhhh, Rocket Engines....

I'm a crazy tinkerer... I build engines from very cheap materials (poor college student...) I'm trying to get a re-loadable H size engine for use with the sugar/KNO3 formulas. It's something that hasn't been done much, so I thought it'd be fun, plus it's cheap (compared to commercial)

Unfortunately since computer controlled Christmas lights came into my life I haven't gotten back to my experimenting.

Maybe I'll try to get back to it this week...

But definitley stay tuned... I'll upload something there one of these days...

ben
03-05-2008, 11:20 AM
Ahhhhh, Rocket Engines....

I'm a crazy tinkerer... I build engines from very cheap materials (poor college student...) I'm trying to get a re-loadable H size engine for use with the sugar/KNO3 formulas. It's something that hasn't been done much, so I thought it'd be fun, plus it's cheap (compared to commercial)

Unfortunately since computer controlled Christmas lights came into my life I haven't gotten back to my experimenting.

Maybe I'll try to get back to it this week...

But definitley stay tuned... I'll upload something there one of these days...

Wichita huh?

www.ldrs27.org

Largest rocket meet in the US. Go check it out. Not to far from you. I don't think I can make it this year but i will next year. Got a fiant 350lb projct going on an O motor to an M motor.

Ben

robots4joey
03-05-2008, 11:52 AM
YES!!

I'll be there! I've been to Argoinia several times to see the rockets fly, but this will be my first LRDS. I hope I don't get too addicted....

WWNF911
03-18-2008, 01:19 PM
Yea Joey,
I registered it at
http://www.active-domain.com/
then I redirected it to
http://www.000webhost.com/
works pretty good.


animal

I tried the same thing although yours keeps the name of your registered domain name at the top when viewed. Mine still show the name of my site at 000webhost.com What did I do different?

Thanks

Leon

Josh
03-18-2008, 02:54 PM
it sounds like it is just redirecting... not real sure how it works threw them, but you need to setup your name servers etc for a real domain.

WWNF911
03-18-2008, 05:10 PM
Well I tried. I guess I just don't know enough about this stuff to be able to intelligently fill in the appropriate blanks. :(

Dont know if the name server is another server or if this is the host information that 000web sent me when I registered etc..?


UPDATE - ***** GOT IT!!!!! *****