PDA

View Full Version : It Blinks and Flashes... When I want it to!!



Deast
02-11-2008, 07:43 PM
I got a Grinch from WJohn and 16 SSR boards. I ordered 2 sets of chips from allegro (and both sets came in!). I made my fist mouser order for enough to build the Grinch and 4 SSR boards. I built the Grinch and one SSR. Then I noticed that I ordered the MOC3023S chips as I went to pop the opto in the socket. Darn surface mount chips don't fit in a socket. Wasted about $9.00, but I think I may put them to use on a home etch 16ch grinch w/ssr on board.

Well, today my 2nd mouser order came in. I actually ordered the right chips. Yay!!!

Popped them in, and everything works... not that I had any doubt.

Only 15 more SSR boards to build,
run a sub panel to the garage,
mount my Grinch and SSR boards,
build enclosures for some SSR boards,
design some sequences,
make a few mini trees,
make 3 leaping arches,
wait for the Xmus 16ch Rens on coop
wait for parts coop,
ETC....

rrowan
02-11-2008, 08:17 PM
Hi Deast,

Congrats on getting started.

I also just started and have a Grinch built and 2 SSRoz. Waiting for the Parts Coop to complete the rest alone with some other goodies like the Ren16, Ren-T, Ren-C.

My first order to mouser also had a oops. I forgot to get some IC sockets :)

Have fun

Rick R.

Vadoo
02-11-2008, 08:18 PM
Christams was expensive and time consuming enough without getting into this hobby AAAHHHHH! lol

Vadoo
02-11-2008, 08:21 PM
My first order to mouser also had a oops. I forgot to get some IC sockets :)

They where out when I ordered my parts (enough for 32 channels of a Grinch, SSR's included) I ran out to Radio Shack and bought some 14 pin sockets, and cut 4 pins off:)