PDA

View Full Version : Smaller Displays

ctmal
02-10-2008, 05:16 PM
Hello Everyone, I'm just starting out with this light controlling stuff and I've got a question as to what I'm thinking is even possible.

I am not looking to set up a full blown light show like the one's you can find on youtube, I would like to start off by making a smaller display. Here is what I have in mind...

I would like to create a singing/dancing Santa Clause using LED's mounted on plywood or something similar. I am hoping to coordinate this with music. From what I've read so far, I'm leaning towards one of the Renard setups to get me going.

My main question is this: Is it possible to do this in a low voltage manner that would allow me to supply power to the lights using only cat5 cable without running a separate extension cord? Sort of a power over ethernet setup?

Thanks for your help,
Chris

Virtus
02-10-2008, 07:12 PM
Chris,

First off, welcome. If you are even slightly interested in how to make your idea into a reality out in your front yard, you have found the right place. The folks who share ideas here could run the Disneyland Main Street Electrical Parade without any problems.

Secondly, assume if your initial idea is successful you will want 4 more for Christmas '09. It seems it happens to us all.

Third, your inital idea of using the Renard design is a good one. For your animation either Xmus’s Ren16 or Frank's Ren24 would work well. They can each be used in conjunction with others of the same types or even the larger Renard64. Either the Ren16 or 24 will require at least one extension cord for power to the controller. Also, I'd recommend using lamp cord (SPT1 or SPT2) to connect the light strings to the controller, even with the smaller current draw they require.

I saw a how-to on YouTube about a dancing penguin cutout that was pretty good as far as understanding what you need to keep in mind throughout the effort.

Good luck and have fun!

Dave

Macrosill