PDA

View Full Version : 3 axis skull. But what controller?

alanf
01-09-2013, 12:30 AM
I am looking to build a three axis skull from triaxial skull labs to upgrade my singing skeleton. But I am new to using servos, and need some help in knowing what controller in can use in conjunction with my ren ss 24 and control with vixen.

Here are some I'm looking at;

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9664

http://diychristmas.org/store/product.php?id_product=56

Thanks

dirknerkle
01-09-2013, 01:12 AM
Contact tstraub for a "sound-to-servo" controller which reacts to things like microphones, audio feeds, etc. Contact ctmal for his RenServo. Or, if you're looking for a wireless one, DIGWDF has MiniRenServoXB.

Tyler (tstraub) also has a very cool "learning" controller that can be programmed to execute up to 4 different actions. It's cool.

tstraub
01-09-2013, 07:06 AM
The Sound to Servo controller that Dirk is referring to is based on the Scary Terry circuit and completely standalone no need for vixen or your Renard controllers. I used it along side of a PICAxe based servo controller designed by user Halstaff to create a 2 axis talking skull. Head movement was random while not talking but always looked straight forward while talking. It worked very well for my needs but I'm not sure if it is what you are looking for. More information about the project can be found here (http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?21498-My-talking-skeleton) if you're interested.

The RenServo by ctmlal or the MiniRenServoXB might be more what you are looking for in terms of control mine just did its own thing.

alanf
01-09-2013, 10:08 AM
I am leaning towards the mini ren servo xb. So the only thing I can't really see from the pictures is where how the lights get plugged in.

ctmal
01-09-2013, 10:27 AM
I am leaning towards the mini ren servo xb. So the only thing I can't really see from the pictures is where how the lights get plugged in.