PDA

View Full Version : What material do you use for your wireframes?

szaske
01-08-2013, 04:46 PM
I'm interested in building some wireframes this year, and want to buy a welder. Can you guys post links to the material you use to build your wireframes with? I've seen mentions of 1/4" rod from some.

I was leaning towards this inexpensive welder (http://www.harborfreight.com/90-amp-flux-wire-welder-68887-8494.html), but not sure it's up to the task.

-=Steve

crazy_carpenter
01-08-2013, 05:12 PM
I've been using 3/8 rebar. Only reason is because I can get it around the corner at HD. That welder is fine, it is the one i use. Their instant on helments are decent too for $40 bucks. Only advice about that unit is after you use the roll of wire that came with it is to buy Lincoln wire at HD. It is better quality and actually cheaper than the HF junk. Just my 2 cents as a self taught hobby welder.

imbluenote
01-08-2013, 05:17 PM
I use a wire feed craftsman (similar unit) and 1/4" steel rod. It was my first time welder and works fine. 3/8" as crazy carp mentions would work too but my guess is you have to work on each weld a little longer making the process longer to not exceed the duty cycle on the unit (i've made it shut Down using 1/4" rod)

rstehle
01-08-2013, 05:20 PM
The HF welders are fine for light duty like we use. However, I would STRONGLY suggest you purchase a welder that can use gas. Welding with gas is much easier, cleaner with far superior looking welds. Believe me - I learned that one the hard way..........
Also, IMO, 1/4" hot rolled is the cheapest and easiest material to use for Wire Frames. Find a local steel supply shop and you can usually buy 20' sticks for around $3.00 (or less). (they will cut it to 10' lengths for ease of transportation if you ask, they are used to it) Much cheaper than buying at one of the home stores.

THurrle
01-08-2013, 05:27 PM