PDA

View Full Version : Voice Over techniques?

TomL8345
12-11-2012, 05:29 PM
This is my first year with Blinky Flashy. I finally have my show running smoothly, and the audio sounding good except for my voice overs.

I am using Audacity to bring in my background music (We wish you a Merry Christmas) and have tried several different microphones to add the voice over. Everytime I do this my voice is very low in comparison to the background music. I have tried adjusting everything I can to no avail. When I have gotten my voice loud enough by lowering the Gain on the background and raising the Gain on my voice over. When I broadcast this, everything is very scratchy and does not sound anywhere near as good as the rest of my show.

I would appreciate any suggestions for software (preferably free) or techniques to improve my voice overs.

Thanks,

Tom L

rklarman
12-11-2012, 05:35 PM
I have used audacity for my voice overs and it came out well. I only adjusted the gains to raise the voice and lower the music

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OregonLights
12-11-2012, 05:36 PM
I do this very same thing with Audacity. (example (https://vimeo.com/55244084)) I record my voice without a microphone on my laptop and filter out the background noise, or I use a cheap-o microphone. Certainly not pro-quality, but very clear and audible in my humble opinion.

1. Record your voice in Audacity.
2. Then select your voice audio, and apply the "amplify" effect to raise/lower the volume until it sounds good with the other music. I never touch the gain on the microphone.

I use this same effect for pieced-together clips that have different audio levels that I patch together in a single song.

Hope this helps, and welcome to Blinky Flashy Tom!

mikeh65
12-11-2012, 05:37 PM