PDA

View Full Version : Changing the Audio for a sequence?



DanHouston
12-06-2012, 08:48 PM
As I am finalizing things I was watching a test run of the show in the yard and I have a song that's volume is much lower than the rest. I can easily address this in Audacity, but how do I get that new audio into my sequence?

injury
12-06-2012, 08:59 PM
EDIT: nevermind Joe chimed in

JHinkle
12-06-2012, 08:59 PM
As long as the LENGTH of the audio does not change - you'll be fine.

Look at the audio Ruler and find how long your audio is.

Start a NEW Sequence, different folder, and load the modified WAV file - HLS will create a PCM file.

Check the audio and make sure it did not Grow in size.

Copy that NEW PCM file and replace your low volume PCM file.

Hope that helps.

Joe

injury
12-06-2012, 09:01 PM
Joe, could he just use audacity to normalize the PCM file created in the first place?

JHinkle
12-06-2012, 09:08 PM
NO!!!

That PCM file is a Hinkle Special.

I have my own custom Header followed by just 16bit audio data.

Joe

DanHouston
12-06-2012, 09:14 PM
As long as the LENGTH of the audio does not change - you'll be fine.

Look at the audio Ruler and find how long your audio is.

Start a NEW Sequence, different folder, and load the modified WAV file - HLS will create a PCM file.

Check the audio and make sure it did not Grow in size.

Copy that NEW PCM file and replace your low volume PCM file.

Hope that helps.

Joe

Worked like a champ....Thanks Joe!

JHinkle
12-06-2012, 09:14 PM
The following is the Hinkle PCM header

struct Tag_HinklePcmHeader
{
char Name[4]; // "joe0"
dword SampleSize; // these are 2 word samples -- NOT BYTES
};

The data following are 16bit audio data where 8 bytes (1 DWORD) comprises a 16bit L & R stereo sample.

If you save the off the first 16 bytes - adjust the sample volume and then replace the header - that should work also.

Joe