PDA

View Full Version : vixen and olsen 595 question: inverted signal

germtangc
12-04-2012, 09:07 AM
First of all I'm a newbie in this forum but I have been researching about light sequencing even before becoming a member here. I should search the forums for an answer to my question but I don't know how to phrase the keysearch that would describe it.

I already went ahead and made my own olsen 595 board (16 channels for now). I used the design with the ULN2803's. So also made my own sinked SSR boards from a schematic I found floating in the web. Suffice to say the setup worked and currently in use in a simple light show I set up for nightly viewing.

Now on to my question: In vixen 2.5 as I set ON patterns for the channels they would actually turn OFF the light strings on those channels. Is this really normal for an Olsen 595 controller setup? This is not really a problem since I would just INVERT the whole sequence for the light strings to blink on the actual patterns I set.

Next question: I'm greatly considering upgrading to a REN-T/REN-C/Olsen 595 setup next year. Would the same inverted signals be observed on my planned setup? Would I then set a bright to dim pattern on Vixen if I would plan to actually dim the lights from dimmest to brightest?

Thanks for considering my thoughts. I barely remember reading something about my first question to be true but I can't be sure if I read it right.

RavingLunatic
12-04-2012, 10:50 AM
First of all I'm a newbie in this forum but I have been researching about light sequencing even before becoming a member here. I should search the forums for an answer to my question but I don't know how to phrase the keysearch that would describe it.